D3 – Micro Smart Grid EUREF (Twinlab)
1. September 2015
Erster Status-Workshop “Smart Energy Ostdeutschland”
28. September 2015

H2BER2 – Development, testing and assessment of intelligent operating strategies for different components and the main controller of the hydrogen refueling station at BER airport

Project duration: 01.01.2015 - 31.12.2016

The objective of the H2BER project was to determine the optimized technical layout and mode of operation of a hydrogen refueling station. In order to achieve this, project partners Total, Linde, McPhy and 2G added hydrogen (H2) as a fuel to the existing refueling station at Berlin airport BER. Passenger cars with 700 bar hydrogen storage can be refueled as well as 350 bar vehicles (busses as well as passenger cars).

In these vehicles, hydrogen together with oxygen is transformed into water, electric energy, and heat. The produced electric energy is used by the car's electric motor in order to power the vehicle. Thus, harmful emissions can be avoided and noise pollution can be reduced considerably – an important step towards sustainable mobility.

In order to avoid emissions from occurring during the production of hydrogen instead, so called "green" hydrogen is used at the refueling station. This hydrogen is produced at the station through electrolysis using water and renewable energy. Before it can be refueled into the vehicle, hydrogen must be compressed to the required pressure in several steps. Furthermore, H2 buffer storage is necessary. In this project, different storage technologies were utilized. Besides gaseous low, medium and high pressure storages, a metal hydride storage system was tested for the first time in Germany. The produced H2 was not only used for refueling vehicles, but can also be used in a combined heat and power plant (CHP).

The aim of the project was to reduce the costs of hydrogen production by optimizing the technical layout of each component. With the aid of an intelligent mode of operation, the prime cost of hydrogen could be reduced in each scenario – especially when coupling the refueling station with a wind turbine, significant effects were observed.

Pictures

Within the research project, the RLI focused on the following tasks:


  • Scientific supervision
  • Design and development of a simulation model of the entire plant
  • Validation of each component of the refueling station using collected data
  • Development of operational strategies based on the simulation model
  • Assessment of operational strategy according to technical, economic, and ecological criteria
  • Optimization of operations on the basis of the simulation model
  • Scenario analysis with regard to alternative sources of electricity and alternative uses of hydrogen as well as optimized fuel station topologies
  • Development of a demonstrator, which visualizes the concept of hydrogen mobility and the principle of H2 refueling stations at the BER and provides viewers with an interactive experience

After the research project has been completed, the RLI concludes the following results:


  • The topology and operation of the hydrogen refueling station was optimized in different scenarios. In order to do so, simulation tools were developed on the basis of existing models and then validated with collected data.
  • An intelligent operational strategy with forecasting was simulated. Prognoses with regard to demand, electricity costs, and the availability of wind energy were taken into account.
  • The costs of hydrogen production were lowered by up to 18% by optimizing topology and coupling the station with a wind turbine.
  • The intelligent operational strategy led to reduced costs in each scenario. Especially the connection to a wind farm and participation in the regular electricity market allowed the reduction of hydrogen production costs.
  • On-site electrolysis was shown to be a suitable method for providing the refueling station with hydrogen. It was possible to react to signals regarding electricity pricing and wind prognoses very well, which allowed costs to be reduced.
  • A significant portion of hydrogen production costs can be traced back to levies, taxes, and duties, which leads to generally high costs of hydrogen production of over 10 €/kg despite optimization.
  • An interactive demonstrator was developed and set up on site for knowledge dissemination, which depicts the interaction of all components.

Total

Linde AG

McPhy Energy Deutschland GmbH

2G Energy AG

Enertrag AG

This project is funded within the NIP ("National Innovation Programme Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technology") by the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI). It is coordinated by the National Organisation Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technology (NOW).

Fabian Grüger, Fabian Möhrke, “Reducing wind farm forecast errors and providing balancing energy with a fuel cell/electrolyzer system”, European Fuel Cell Conference & Exhibition 2015.

Fabian Grueger, Fabian Möhrke, Martin Robinius, Detlef Stolten, Early power to gas applications: Reducing wind farm forecast errors and providing secondary control reserve, Applied Energy, Available online 12 July 2016, ISSN 0306-2619

Contact



Fabian Grüger


Project Manager

Oliver Hoch


Researcher

Olaf Bernicke


Researcher, Head of Laboratory

D3 – Micro Smart Grid EUREF (Twinlab)
1. September 2015
Erster Status-Workshop „Smart Energy Ostdeutschland“
28. September 2015

H2BER2 – Entwicklung und Erprobung von Betriebsstrategien für die H2-Tankstelle am Flughafen BER

Projektzeitraum: 01.01.2015 - 31.12.2016

Im Projekt H2BER ging es darum, die optimale Auslegungen und Betriebsweise für eine Wasserstofftankstelle zu ermitteln. Dafür wurde am zukünftigen Flughafen Berlin Brandenburg (BER) durch die Projektpartner Total, Linde, McPhy und 2G eine konventionelle Tankstelle um den Kraftstoff Wasserstoff (H2) erweitert. Dort können nun neben PKW mit 700 bar-Tank auch 350 bar-Fahrzeuge (PKW und Busse) an eigens errichteten Zapfsäulen tanken.

In diesen Fahrzeugen wird Wasserstoff zusammen mit Luftsauerstoff in einer sogenannten Brennstoffzelle in Wasser, elektrische Energie und Wärme gewandelt. Der elektrische Strom kann wiederum einen Elektromotor und somit das Fahrzeug antreiben. So können Schadstoffemissionen vermieden und Lärmemissionen erheblich reduziert werden – ein wichtiger Schritt auf dem Weg zu einer nachhaltigen Mobilität.

Damit die Emissionen nicht stattdessen bei der Erzeugung von Wasserstoff entstehen, kommt sogenannter "grüner" Wasserstoff zum Einsatz, der direkt vor Ort mit einem Elektrolyseur unter Einsatz von Wasser und erneuerbaren Energien erzeugt wird. Bevor er an ein Fahrzeug abgegeben werden kann, muss der Wasserstoff zunächst in mehreren Stufen auf den erforderlichen Druck verdichtet werden. Zusätzlich sind H2-Zwischenspeicher erforderlich. In diesem Projekt wurden verschiedene Speichertechnologien eingesetzt: Neben Druckspeichern kamen auch erstmals in Deutschland ein sogenannter Feststoffspeicher auf Metallhydrid-Basis zum Einsatz. Der erzeugte Wasserstoff wurde allerdings nicht nur für die Fahrzeugbetankung genutzt, sondern kann auch in einem bivalenten Blockheizkraftwerk (BHKW) zur Erzeugung von Strom und Wärme verbrannt werden.

Ziel des Projekts war es, die Kosten der Wasserstoffproduktion durch Optimierung der Auslegung jeder Komponente zu senken. Mithilfe der intelligenten Betriebsstrategie konnten die Wasserstoffgestehungskosten in jedem Szenario reduziert werden – insbesondere die Kopplung der Tankstelle an eine Windenergieanlage zeigte deutliche Effekte.

Bilder

Das RLI übernahm im Forschungsprojekt folgende Aufgaben:


  • Wissenschaftliche Leitung
  • Entwicklung und Aufbau eines Simulationsmodells der gesamten Anlage
  • Validierung der einzelnen Tankstellenkomponenten mit Messdaten
  • Entwicklung von Betriebsstrategien, basierend auf dem Simulationsmodell
  • Bewertung der Betriebsstrategie nach technischen, ökonomischen und ökologischen Kriterien
  • Optimierung des Betriebs auf Grundlage des Simulationsmodells
  • Untersuchung von alternativen Strombezugs- und Wasserstoffverwendungsmöglichkeiten sowie optimierten Tankstellentopologien im Rahmen von Szenario-Betrachtungen
  • Entwicklung eines Demonstrators , der das Konzept von Wasserstoffmobilität und das Prinzip der H2-Tankstelle am BER veranschaulicht und interaktiv erfahrbar macht

Nach Abschluss des Forschungsprojekts lassen sich aus RLI-Sicht folgende Ergebnisse festhalten:


  • Die Topologie und Betriebsführung der Wassserstofftankstelle wurde in verschiedenen Szenarien optimiert. Dafür wurden auf Basis bestehender Modelle Simulationstools entwickelt und mit Messdaten validiert.
  • Eine intelligente Betriebsstrategie mit Vorausschau wurde simuliert. Prognosen für Nachfrage, Strompreise und Windenergieverfügbarkeit wurden berücksichtigt.
  • Durch Topologieoptimierung und Anbindung an eine Windenergieanlage konnten die Wasserstoffproduktionskosten um bis zu 18 % gesenkt werden.
  • Die intelligente Betriebsstrategie führt in jedem Szenario zu geringeren Kosten. Insbesondere durch eine Windparkanbindung und durch Regelenergiemarktteilnahme konnten die Wasserstoffproduktionskosten gesenkt werden.
  • Onsite-Elektrolyse hat sich als geeignete Methode erwiesen, um die Tankstelle mit Wasserstoff zu versorgen. Auf Strompreissignale und Windprognosen konnte sehr gut reagiert werden, dadurch wurden Kosten gesenkt.
  • Ein bedeutender Anteil der Wasserstoffproduktionskosten ist auf Umlagen, Steuern und Abgaben zurückzuführen, dadurch ergeben sich trotz Optimierung allgemein hohe Wasserstoffgestehungskosten von mehr als 10 €/kg.
  • Zur Wissensvermittlung wurde ein interaktiver Demonstrator entwickelt und vor Ort aufgebaut, der das Zusammenwirken aller Komponenten darstellt.

Total

Linde AG

McPhy Energy Deutschland GmbH

2G Energy AG

Enertrag AG

Das Projekt wird im Rahmen des NIP ("Nationales Innovationsprogramm Wasserstoff- und Brennstoffzellentechnologie") durch das Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur (BMVI) gefördert. Es wird koordiniert durch die Nationale Organisation Wasserstoff- und Brennstoffzellentechnologie (NOW).

Fabian Grüger, Fabian Möhrke, Reducing wind farm forecast errors and providing balancing energy with a fuel cell / electrolyzer system, European Fuel Cell Conference & Exhibition 2015.

Fabian Grueger, Fabian Möhrke, Martin Robinius, Detlef Stolten, Early power to gas applications: Reducing wind farm forecast errors and providing secondary control reserve, Applied Energy, Available online 12 July 2016, ISSN 0306-2619

Ansprechpartner & Mitarbeiter



Oliver Hoch

+49 (0)30 5304 2009


Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Olaf Bernicke

+49 (0)30 5304 2006


Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter, Laborleiter