International Energy Industry Conference – IEWT 2017
15. February 2017
Agora Energiewende Report about decentralized organization
28. February 2017

Halftime for the open_eGo Project

February 17th 2017 – The team working on the research project open_eGo has reached an important milestone: January marked the end of the first half of the three-year funding period. The project partners – consisting of Europa-Universität Flensburg (via the affiliated Center for Sustainable Energy Systems), Reiner Lemoine Institute, Next Energy – EWE Research Centre for Energy Technology in Oldenburg, and Otto-von-Guericke-University Magdeburg – met on the occasion at Flensburg University of Applied Sciences together with Project Management Jülich and took stock. The project aims at developing solutions for the expansion and remodeling of the energy system at optimal cost, based on algorithms. Special attention is paid to the very different and sometimes contradicting interests, ideas, and models of the different stakeholders of the Energy Transition.

Already in Fall 2016, the OpenEnergy Platform was launched and another milestone is very close to completion: The development of a geotagged data model of the transmission and distribution grid, including suppliers and dischargers. Based on this, first results for the optimized operation of power plants as well as optimized investments for storages were presented.

The project is supported by the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy and funded with 1.8 million Euro until mid 2018. The RLI is responsible for designing and optimizing medium and low voltage grids.

© Photo: Flensburg University of Applied Sciences

Internationale Energiewirtschaftstagung – IEWT 2017
15. Februar 2017
Agora Energiewende Bericht zur Dezentralität
28. Februar 2017

Halbzeit im open_eGo-Projekt

17. Februar 2017 – Das Team des Forschungsprojekt open_eGo hat einen wichtigen Meilenstein hinter sich gebracht: Ende Januar war die Hälfte des dreijährigen Förderzeitraums erreicht. Die Projektpartner – die Europa-Universität Flensburg (über das Zentrum für nachhaltige Energiesysteme), das Reiner Lemoine Institut, das Next Energy – EWE-Forschungszentrum für Energietechnologie in Oldenburg und die Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg – kamen aus diesem Anlass gemeinsam mit dem Projektträger Jülich an der Hochschule Flensburg zusammen und zogen eine positive Halbzeitbilanz. Ziel des Projekts ist es, mithilfe von Algorithmen kostenoptimale Lösung für den Aus- und Umbau des Stromnetzes zu generieren. Das besondere Augenmerk liegt dabei auf den verschiedenen und zum Teil widersprüchlichen Interessen, Vorschlägen und Modellen der Akteure der Energiewende.

Bereits im Herbst 2016 konnte die OpenEnergy Plattform veröffentlicht werden, ein weiterer Meilenstein steht ebenfalls kurz vor dem Abschluss: die Erstellung eines georeferenzierten Datenmodells des Übertragungs- und Verteilnetzes inklusive Ein- und Ausspeiser. Auf dieser Grundlage konnten auch erste Ergebnisse für die Kraftwerkseinsatzoptimierung mit gleichzeitiger Investitionsoptimierung von Speichern präsentiert werden.

Unterstützt wird das Projekt vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie mit 1,8 Millionen Euro bis Mitte 2018. Das RLI ist dabei insbesondere für die Erstellung und Optimierung von Mittel- und Niederspannungsnetzen verantwortlich. .

© Foto: Hochschule Flensburg