Populationsbasierte Optimierungsmethoden zur Entscheidungsunterstützung im Energiesystemdesign: Diskussion einiger Ansätze (Wanitschke et al. 2016)
22. July 2016
open_FRED: open feed-in time series based on a Renewable Energy Database
10. August 2016

NESP workshop in Nigeria

23rd July 2016 – Philipp Blechinger and Catherina Cader (RLI team Off-Grid Systems) presented and discussed first results of electrification modelling within the project “Rural electrification modelling in the framework of the Nigerian Energy Support Programme (NESP)” during a two-day workshop in Abuja (Nigeria) on July 21st and 22nd 2016. NESP is a technical assistance program funded by the European Union and the German Government. It is jointly implemented by Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) as well as federal and state authorities in Nigeria, such as the Federal Ministry of Power, Works and Housing (FMPWH).

Presentation of preliminary results for grid extension and mini-grids. F. l. t. r.: Muhammed Imran (INTEGRATION Environment & Energy GmbH), Catherina Cader (RLI), Philipp Blechinger (RLI).

Presentation of preliminary results for grid extension and mini-grids. F. l. t. r.: Muhammed Imran (INTEGRATION Environment & Energy GmbH), Catherina Cader (RLI), Philipp Blechinger (RLI).

After presenting the theoretical background for mini-grid optimization and simulation as well as grid extension modelling for the five NESP partner states Cross River, Niger, Ogun, Plateau, and Sokoto, the participants gave feedback on the results of each state. Among the participants were key stakeholders from each state’s electrification working groups, members of the local geographic information system agencies and distribution companies, representatives of the national counterparts, such as the Rural Electrification Agency (REA) and the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC). Lively discussions revealed details on the validity of the results and recent challenges on the grounds.

Presentation of state working group discussion results.

Presentation of state working group discussion results.

Preliminary results confirm that Nigeria faces a deep power crisis at the moment, as no sufficient power generation is available to even supply the current demand while only about half of the Nigerian population is yet connected to the grid. “Especially with regard to that challenge, mini-grids powered by renewables show high potential for providing access to electricity for the currently non-electrified regions”, summarizes Catherina Cader, who is currently writing her dissertation on the same topic at RLI. “Meeting our Nigerian partners has once again given us important insights concerning people’s needs and local characteristics. For our work, this input is immensely valuable in order to jointly develop good strategies that bring us one step further in achieving the goal of providing all Nigerians access to sustainable electricity.”

Detailed feedback discussions on the modelling results.

Detailed feedback discussions on the modelling results.

© Photos: RLI

23. Juli 2016 – Philipp Blechinger und Catherina Cader (RLI-Forschungsbereich Off-Grid Systems) haben bei einem Workshop in Abuja (Nigeria) am 21. und 22. Juli 2016  Elektrifizierungsmodelle und erste Ergebnisse aus dem Forschungsprojekt „Rural electrification modelling in the framework of the Nigerian Energy Support Programme (NESP)” vorgestellt. NESP ist ein technisches Unterstützungsprogramm, das von der Europäischen Union und der deutschen Bundesregierung finanziert wird. Umgesetzt wird es von der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) und den Nigerianischen Bundesbehörden, wie beispielweise dem Energieministerium (Federal Ministry of Power, Works and Housing – FMPWH).

Vorstellung der vorläufigen Ergebnisse zu Mini Grids und Netzerweiterung. V. l. n. r.: Muhammed Imran (INTEGRATION Environment & Energy GmbH), Catherina Cader (RLI), Philipp Blechinger (RLI).

Vorstellung der vorläufigen Ergebnisse zu Mini Grids und Netzerweiterung. V. l. n. r.: Muhammed Imran (INTEGRATION Environment & Energy GmbH), Catherina Cader (RLI), Philipp Blechinger (RLI).

Nach der Vorstellung des theoretischen Hintergrunds zur Optimierung und Simulation von Mini Grids sowie der Netzerweiterungsmodelle für die fünf NESP-Partnerstaaten Cross River, Niger, Ogun, Plateau und Sokoto, gaben die Anwesenden Rückmeldung zu den Ergebnissen für die einzelnen Bundestaaten. Am Workshop nahmen unter anderem Schlüsselakteure der Arbeitsgruppen zur Elektrifizierung der einzelnen Staaten, Mitglieder der lokalen Geoinformationssystemvertretungen sowie der Repräsentanten der entsprechenden Stellen auf Bundesebene, wie beispielsweise die Ländliche Elektrifizierungsbehörde (Rural Electrification Agency – REA) und die Nigerianische Energieregulierungskommission (Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission – NERC). In einer lebhaften Diskussion wurden Details zur Aussagekraft der Ergebnisse sowie spezielle Herausforderungen in den einzelnen Staaten identifiziert.

Vorstellung der Diskussionsergebnisse der einzelnen Arbeitsgruppen der Bundestaaten.

Vorstellung der Diskussionsergebnisse der einzelnen Arbeitsgruppen der Bundestaaten.

Die vorläufigen Ergebnisse bestätigen, dass Nigeria aktuell in einer tiefen Energiekrise steckt, da noch nicht einmal der aktuelle Strombedarf gedeckt werden kann, wobei mehr als die Hälfte der nigerianischen Haushalte noch nicht ans Stromnetz angeschlossen ist. „Im Hinblick auf diese Herausforderung bieten insbesondere mit Erneuerbaren Energien gespeiste Mini-Grids ein großes Potential, bisher nicht an das Netz angeschlossene Regionen mit Strom zu versorgen“, fasst Catherina Cader, die am RLI zum selben Thema promoviert, die Workshopergebnisse zusammen. „Das Treffen mit unseren Partnern in Nigeria hat uns erneut wichtige Erkenntnisse über die Bedürfnisse der Menschen vor Ort und lokale Besonderheiten gegeben. Für unsere Arbeit ist dieser Input enorm wichtig, um gemeinsam gute Strategien entwickeln zu können, die uns einen Schritt näher an das langfristige Ziel bringen, allen nigerianischen Bürgern Zugang zu nachhaltiger Stromversorgung zu gewährleisten.“

Diskussion der Details der Modellierungsergebnisse.

Diskussion der Details der Modellierungsergebnisse.

© Fotos: RLI