oemof - open energy system modelling framework

The Open Energy Modelling Framework (oemof) is a tool for modelling and analyzing energy systems. It is an open-source software which is composed of flexible modules and can thus be compiled according to different specific needs. This makes it very useful for inter-sector studies.

Currently, research results are very often based on calculations made with energy system models. The details of these models very often remain in the shadows of research institutions, making it difficult for other researchers to understand and verify research results. If system models are inaccurate, the mistakes will not be detected and the whole reliability of the results could be at stake. Also, similar models are developed at different institutions at the same time, instead of joining forces and creating a shared reliable code base.

Joined forces – open for anyone

For oemof, we have chosen a different way. The modelling framework was created by RLI in collaboration with the Center for Sustainable Energy Systems (ZNES – University and University of Applied Sciences Flensburg) and Magdeburg University. It is available for the energy system modelling community under the open-source license GPL 3 and was developed and published via GitHub . oemof complies with the Best Practice Rules for Scientific Computing and the Transparency Checklist for Energy System Models

Modular design for custom-made models

oemof‘s structure allows different modelling approaches to coexist within one software framework. So far, we have mainly used the SOLPH library which makes it possible to describe energy systems with linear problems as well as with mixed-integer linear problems (MILP). Many examples that demonstrate how SOLPH works already exist in oemof. In addition, RLI has developed several applications based on oemof that are good examples of what can be achieved with oemof/SOLPH:

  • Urban power and heat sector-coupling in Berlin
  • Modeling of power and supply in eastern Germany


  • Other German and European institutions are also already using oemof for research and teaching.

    oemof is implemented in Python and builds upon different libraries. As our approach has been collaborative from the very beginning and relies on flexible modules, the concept offers maximum freedom for users concerning which functions they wish to employ. The software thus works for a myriad of use cases. As oemof is fully transparent, developers not only have the opportunity to modify and advance the models for their purposes, it also improves the credibility of studies and consulting services for businesses and policy makers that are based on energy system model calculations.

    All energy system researchers and developers are welcome to use oemof and contribute to the framework’s future development!



    Zentrum für nachhaltige Energiesysteme (ZNES)

    Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg

    Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg
    Result from the oemof-SOLPH example "storage_invest". The power plant and storage performance is illustrated for an exemplary week.

    energy system in oemofExemplary energy system that can be optimized with oemof.

    Contact



    Guido Pleßmann


    PhD candidate

    Birgit Schachler


    Researcher

    Caroline Möller


    PhD candidate

Is a grid connection the best solution? Frequently overlooked arguments assessing centralized electrification pathways
25. April 2015
100% EE durch PtG
1. Mai 2015

oemof

oemof - open energy system modelling framework

Das Modellierungsframework oemof (Open Energy Modelling Framework) ist ein Werkzeug zur Modellierung und Analyse von Energiesystemen. Es handelt sich um eine open-source-lizenzierte Software, die modular und flexibel aufgebaut ist, sodass sie nach eigenen Wünschen zusammengestellt werden kann. Dadurch eignet sie sich für den Einsatz bei sektorübergreifenden Studien.

Gegenwärtig beruhen Forschungsresultate häufig auf Ergebnissen von Energiesystemmodellen, deren Details hinter Institutsmauern verborgenen bleiben. Dies macht es Leserinnen und Lesern schwer die Modellierungsansätze zu verstehen und deren Qualität zu beurteilen. Mögliche Modellfehler bleiben verborgen und können die Glaubwürdigkeit von Ergebnissen verringern. Ähnliche Modellansätze werden an verschiedenen Institutionen immer wieder neu entwickelt, anstatt die Arbeitskraft zu bündeln und gemeinsam an einer soliden Codebasis zu arbeiten.

Anstrengungen bündeln – offen für alle


Mit dem Modellierungsframework oemof wurde darum ein anderer Weg gewählt. Es wurde in einer Kollaboration des Zentrums für nachhaltige Energiesysteme (ZNES - Uni/Hochschule Flensburg), der Universität Magdeburg und dem RLI entwickelt. Unter der Open Source Lizenz GPL 3 steht es für die Energiesystemmodellierungscommunity zur Anwendung und Weiterentwicklung bereit, entwickelt und veröffentlicht wurde es auf GitHub. Weiterhin erfüllt es die Best-Practice Regeln für Computermodelle und die Tranzparenzcheckliste für Energiesystemmodelle

Baukastensystem für maßgeschneiderte Modelle

Die Struktur von oemof ermöglicht die Koexistenz verschiedener Modellierungsansätze in einem Softwarerahmen. Bis jetzt wurde vorrangig die Bibliothek SOLPH verwendet. Sie ermöglicht eine Beschreibung von Energiesystemen in Form linearer Probleme und gemischt-ganzzahliger linearer Probleme (MILP). Zahlreiche Beispiele zur Demonstration der Funktionsweise von SOLPH sind in oemof bereits vorhanden. Darüber hinaus existieren am RLI bereits einige Anwendungen, die unter Nutzung von oemof entwickelt wurden und die die Möglichkeiten, die oemof/SOLPH bieten, gut demonstrieren:

Auch an anderen deutschen und europäischen Einrichtungen wird oemof bereits in Forschung und Lehre eingesetzt.

oemof ist in Python implementiert und baut dabei auf vorhandenen Bibliotheken auf. Weil unser Ansatz von Anfang an kollaborativ war und die Implementierung modular und flexibel erfolgte, bietet das Konzept der Apps der Anwenderschaft maximale Freiheit in der Verwendung des Funktionsumfangs. Somit lässt sich die Software auf eine Vielzahl von Anwendungsfällen anpassen. Die vollständige Transparenz der Modellierung bietet nicht nur Entwicklerinnen und Entwicklern die Möglichkeit das Framework für ihre jeweiligen Zwecke weiter zu entwickeln, sie verbessert auch die Nachvollziehbarkeit von Studien und individuellen Beratungsleistungen für Privatwirtschaft und Politik, die auf mit oemof erstellten Energiesystemmodellen beruhen.

Alle Energiesystemforscherinnen und -forscher sind herzlich eingeladen oemof zu nutzen und zur weiteren Entwicklung von oemof beizutragen!

Zentrum für nachhaltige Energiesysteme (ZNES)

Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg

Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg
Ergebnisgrafik aus dem oemof-SOLPH-Beispiel "storage_invest". Anhand einer exemplarischen Woche wird der Kraftwerks- und Speichereinsatz dargestellt.

energy system in oemofBeispielhaftes Energiesystem, das mit oemof optimiert werden kann.