User Group Meeting “Decentralized Energy Supply – Smart Grids”
14. September 2017
RLI at EnviroInfo 2017
19. September 2017

oemof_heat

In the course of Germany’s energy transition markets for electricity and heat are merging at an increasing rate. Here, sector coupling is an important key for the integration of renewable energy, for example when energy production surpluses are utilized via power-to-heat technology. Especially in economic considerations and sustainable investment decisions, approaches taking into account both heat and electricity sectors must be developed. Thereby, simulation and optimization procedures can envelope the full scope of energy systems. Currently, individual components for the modelling of heat supply systems are integrated into the open energy modelling framework (oemof). In various projects the framework serves to answer scientific issues regarding the heat sector’s energy transition. The project oemof_heat will continue this development to realize the integration of the heat sector extensively.
Thus, the project oemof_heat is to facilitate the further development of the existing open-source framework oemof as a flexible tool for modeling complex heat supply scenarios and in regard to questions across different sectors. The focus lies on heat supply networks, thermal energy storages and process heating.

The aim is to integrate the heat sector with all relevant components in oemof in order to enable the analysis of relevant questions with regard to the heat transition and under consideration of the entire system. For this purpose, existing components must be upgraded and new modular calculation blocks will be developed. Finally, we will be able to provide a validated, publicly available calculation tool which will be already applied within the project’s duration to analyze, optimize and publish relevant scientific issues regarding the heat transition. With respect to the Open-Science Philosophy, the project will make consistent use of Open Source technology and Open Data. The results will be published under corresponding licenses. In addition, intermediate stages will be published on the OpenEnergy Platform and discussed with the Open Energy Modelling (openmod) Community.

RLI is responsible for the following tasks within the project:


  • Definition of practical heat supply systems and scenarios
  • Implementation of these systems and scenarios in modeling components and calculation functions
  • Special investigation into district heating networks, thermal energy storages, and process heat applications
  • Improvement and development of approaches for modelling thermal energy storages under consideration of different temperature levels
  • Simulation and optimization of defined systems and scenarios
  • Publication of input data, scenarios, and results on the OpenEnergy Platform
  • Discussion of intermediate steps and results in accordance to values of Open-Science
  • Integration of oemof users through the use of documentation, online forums, and workshops
Beuth Hochschule

Associated partners:


innogy SE

Energieavantgarde Anhalt

GASAG

HTW
BMWi

Contact



Berit Müller


Team head

Editha Kötter


Project manager

Caroline Möller


Researcher

Jann Launer


Researcher

Elektromobilität: RLI legt Studie zum Ausbau der öffentlichen Ladeinfrastruktur in Brandenburg vor
27. Juli 2017
Neue Initiative zu SDG7 gegründet: Berkeley-Berlin Energy Access Group
4. August 2017

oemof_heat

Projektzeitraum 01.07.2017-30.06.2020

Die Märkte für Strom und Wärme wachsen im Rahmen der Energiewende immer stärker zusammen. Sektorkopplung ist dabei ein entscheidender Schlüssel für die Integration von Erneuerbaren Energien ins Energiesystem – etwa indem durch Power-to-Heat Stromüberschüsse aus Erneuerbaren Energien für die Wärmebereitstellung verwendet werden. Gerade für ökonomische Betrachtungen und nachhaltige Investitionsentscheidungen muss es daher möglich sein, in Simulationen und Optimierungsrechnungen die Sektoren gekoppelt zu betrachteten. Innerhalb des open energy modelling frameworks (oemof) wurden in der Vergangenheit bereits Einzelbausteine zur Betrachtung der Wärmeversorgung im Energiesystem modelliert, jedoch existiert noch kein vollumfänglich geeignetes und öffentlich verfügbares Berechnungswerkzeug.
Im Projekt oemof_heat soll daher das bestehende Open-Source-Werkzeug oemof als flexibles Tool für die Modellierung von komplexen Wärmeversorgungsszenarien und sektorübergreifenden Fragestellungen weiterentwickelt werden.

Ziel ist die Integration des Wärmesektors mit allen wichtigen Komponenten in oemof, sodass die Betrachtung relevanter Fragestellungen der Wärmewende unter Berücksichtigung des Gesamtsystems möglich wird. Hierfür müssen bestehende Komponenten erweitert und neue modulare Berechnungsbausteine entwickelt werden. Am Ende wird ein validiertes, öffentlich zugängliches Berechnungswerkzeug stehen, mit dem bereits im laufenden Projekt praxisrelevante Systeme optimiert, analysiert und veröffentlicht werden. Im Sinne der Open-Sience-Philosophie wird in dem Projekt auf konsequente Verwendung von Open Source, Open Data und entsprechender Lizensierung gesetzt. Zusätzlich werden Zwischenschritte und Ergebnisse auf der OpenEnery Platform veröffentlicht und mit der Open Energy Modelling (openmod) Community diskutiert.

Das RLI übernimmt im Forschungsprojekt folgende Aufgaben:


  • Definition praxisrelevanter Wärmeversorgungssysteme und -szenarien
  • Umsetzung dieser Systeme und Szenarien in Modellkomponenten und Berechnungsfunktionen
  • Besondere Betrachtung von Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung, Wärmepumpensystemen, Wärmenetzen, Wärmespeichern und Power-to-Heat
  • Ausbau und Neuentwicklung von Ansätzen zur Modellierung von thermischen Energiespeichern und Netzen unter Berücksichtigung unterschiedlicher Temperaturniveaus
  • Simulation und Optimierung der definierten Systeme und Szenarien
  • Veröffentlichung der Eingangsdaten, Szenarien und Ergebnisse auf der OpenEnergy Platform
  • Diskussion von Zwischenschritten und Ergebnissen im Sinne von Open-Science.
  • Integration der oemof-Anwenderinnen und -Anwender durch Dokumentation, Online-Foren und Workshops.
Beuth Hochschule

Assoziierte Partner:


innogy SE

Energieavantgarde Anhalt

GASAG

HTW
BMWi

Kontakt



Berit Müller


Teamleiterin

Editha Kötter


Projektleiterin

Caroline Möller


Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin