Berliner Energietage
3. May 2017
Conference: Myanmar Off-Grid Renewable Energy Investment Forum
9. May 2017

Oliver Arnhold speaks on e-mobility and energy systems at EU Parliament

May 2nd 2017 – Oliver Arnhold, head of the team Mobility with Renewable Energy at RLI, took part as expert in a discussion on e-mobility and energy systems at the European Parliament in Brussels.

The expert discussion took place upon invitation of social democrat Member of the European Parliament Karoline Graswander-Hainz. She is shadow rapporteur for the EU Parliament-initiative report entitled “A European Strategy for Low-Emission Mobility”, currently in preparation by the Parliament, and which will in the future serve as a bill for draft legislation. Oliver therefore held a lecture in front of the report committee, which introduced expert knowledge regarding the effects of an increased number of battery and fuel cell-powered vehicles on an energy system based on renewable energy.

“I am very pleased that the report committee invited me to speak on this special topic. From our perspective, the integration of battery and fuel cell-powered vehicles bears many advantages for renewable energy systems because within a well-balanced mix, these offer energy efficiency and flexibility options. Yet, in order to achieve this mix, incentives for users and operating companies are necessary. I am glad that the issue is now being addressed at the EU-level. My impression is that we had an effective and valuable exchange on this in Brussels”, Oliver summarizes the discussion.

In addition to Oliver, representatives from the European Commission, the Austrian provider of charging stations SMATRICS, the umbrella for non-governmental European organizations in the field of sustainable transport “Transport & Environment” as well as BMW took part in the expert discussion.


© Photos: Office of Karoline Graswander-Hainz

Berliner Energietage
3. Mai 2017
RLI auf der Hannover Messe
8. Mai 2017

Oliver Arnhold spricht im EU-Parlament über E-Mobilität und Energiesysteme

2. Mai 2017 – Oliver Arnhold, Forschungsfeldleiter Mobilität mit Erneuerbaren Energien am RLI, hat als Experte für E-Mobilität und Energiesysteme an einem Fachgespräch des Europäischen Parlaments in Brüssel teilgenommen.

Das Expertengespräch fand auf Einladung der sozialdemokratischen Europaabgeordneten Karoline Graswander-Hainz statt. Sie ist Schattenberichterstatterin für den Eigeninitiativbericht des EU-Parlaments mit dem Titel „A European Strategy for Low-Emission Mobility“, der aktuell vom Parlament vorbereitet und als Vorlage für spätere Gesetzentwürfe dienen wird. Oliver hielt darum einen Vortrag vor dem Berichtsgremium und brachte Fachwissen über die Auswirkungen einer erhöhten Anzahl von Batterie- und Brennstoffzellenfahrzeuge auf ein Energiesystem mit Erneuerbaren Energien ein.

„Ich freue mich sehr, dass das Berichtsgremium mich zu dieser speziellen Thematik eingeladen hat. Die Einbindung von Batterie- und Brennstoffzellenfahrzeugen hat aus unserer Sicht große Vorteile für Erneuerbar-Energie-Systeme, denn sie bieten gemeinsam in einem ausgewogenen Mix sowohl Energieeffizienz als auch Flexibilitätsoptionen. Doch um diesen Mix zu erreichen, braucht es Anreize für Nutzerinnen und Nutzer sowie Betreiberfirmen. Ich bin froh, dass das Thema auf EU-Ebene aufgegriffen wird und hatte den Eindruck, dass wir in Brüssel einen nachhaltigen und wertvollen Austausch darüber geführt haben,“, fasst Oliver das Gespräch zusammen.

Neben Oliver nahmen Vertreterinnen und Vertreter der Europäischen Kommission, des österreichischen Ladesäulenbetreibers SMATRICS, der Dachorganisation von nichtstaatlichen europäischen Organisationen aus dem nachhaltigen Verkehrsbereich „Transport & Environment” sowie von BMW teil.


© Fotos: Büro Karoline Graswander-Hainz