NESP workshop in Nigeria
23. July 2016
“Strommarkttreffen” at RLI about Balancing Power
2. September 2016

open_FRED: open feed-in time series based on a Renewable Energy Database


Project duration 01.08.2016 - 31.01.2019

For energy system analyses, we need a base of consistent data. But these are rarely available in an open data format and/or good quality. Especially weather data (such as solar radiation, wind speed and direction at different altitudes, temperature profiles, and rainfall) are rarely ever complete. The data that is available, does often not match the needs of simulation models for fluctuating renewable energies (fEE).

The aim of open_FRED is, to create such consistent standard data and to make it available in an open data base of all relevant data sets (power plant, climate, and basic data). This will then be connected to open source simulations models, which will produce feed-in time series of fEE.

In this project, we work in an interdisciplinary team of meteorologists, electrical engineers, and computer scientists. Together, we will join requirements, assumptions, and possibilities of energy system analysis with those of climate models, in order to create a high-quality, transparent, and citable data set.

German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy in context of the funding program „Optimierung der Stromversorgungssysteme“ (optimizing energy supply systems) (funding number: 0324006A)

Contact persons

Editha Kötter

Project manager

Berit Müller

Team Head

Birgit Schachler

Research associate

Ludwig Hülk

Research associate

NESP Workshop in Nigeria
23. Juli 2016
Strommarkttreffen am RLI zur Regelenergie
2. September 2016

open_FRED: open feed-in time series based on a Renewable Energy Database

Erstellung von Einspeisezeitreihen der fluktuierenden Erneuerbaren Energien auf Basis einer offenen Datenbank

Projektzeitraum 01.08.2016 - 31.01.2019

Für Energiesystemanalysen benötigt man einen Grundstock von konsistenten Daten, die jedoch selten als Open Data in guter Qualität vorliegen. Insbesondere Wetterdatensätze (etwa Solarstrahlung; Windgeschwindigkeiten und Windrichtung für verschiedene Höhen, Temperaturprofile und Niederschlag) sind kaum vollständig verfügbar. Die vorhandenen Daten sind zudem nicht auf die Bedürfnisse von Simulationsmodellen für fluktuierenden Erneuerbaren Energien (fEE) zugeschnitten.

Ziel von open_FRED ist es, diese Datengrundlage mit einheitlichem Standard zu schaffen und eine offene Datenbank mit relevanten Datensätzen (Kraftwerks-, Klima- und Grunddaten) zu erstellen. Diese werden dann mit Open-Source-Simulationsmodellen verknüpft, die Einspeisezeitreihen der fEE erzeugen.

Die Forschung findet in einem interdisziplinären Team aus den Bereichen Meteorologie, Energietechnik und Informatik statt. Gemeinsam sollen die Anforderungen, Annahmen und Möglichkeiten der Energiesystemanalyse mit denen von Klimamodellen zusammen gebracht werden, um einen hochwertigen, transparenten und zitierbaren Datensatz zu schaffen.
Bild


Bild
Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie im Rahmen der Förderinitiative „Optimierung der Stromversorgungssysteme“ (Förderkennzeichen: 0324006A)

Kontakt



Editha Kötter


Projektleiterin

Berit Müller


Teamleiterin

Birgit Schachler


Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

Ludwig Hülk


Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter