Conference “Future Grids for Renewable Energy”
31. January 2017
Potenziale Erneuerbarer Energien in Ostdeutschland (Fiuskowski, Wernitz et al. 2016)
14. February 2017

RLI joins Sustainable Development Solutions Network

February 2nd 2017 – The RLI has been accepted as a member of the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Solutions Network (SDSN) at the beginning of the year. The SDSN is an international group of more than 500 research institutions who work on solutions for Sustainable Development. It was launched in 2012 by former UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon.

„We are looking forward to exchanging scientific and technological news and will be happy to share our expertise on renewable energies with partners worldwide“, says RLI’s Managing Director Kathrin Goldammer. „We see that combatting climate change is a global challenge that can only be successful if we join forces. The SDSN is a vivid international community that offers a perfect framework for this mission.“

RLI has been involved with the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) for a long time, especially on the research field Off-Grid Systems. Our research on electrification of rural areas contributes to reaching SDG7, which aims at ensuring access to affordable, reliable, sustainable, and modern energy for all people worldwide.

 

© Photo: RLI

Konferenz „Zukünftige Stromnetze für Erneuerbare Energien“
31. Januar 2017
Erneuerbare Energien in Ostdeutschland: Großes Potenzial, zu wenig Sektorkopplung
13. Februar 2017

RLI Mitglied im Sustainable Development Solutions Network

2. Februar 2017 – Das RLI wurde zum Jahresbeginn als Mitglied in das Sustainable Development Solutions Network (SDSN) der Vereinten Nationen aufgenommen. Das SDSN ist ein internationales Netzwerk von über 500 Forschungseinrichtungen, das Lösungen im Bereich der Nachhaltigen Entwicklung erarbeitet. Es wurde 2012 unter der Schirmherrschaft des ehemaligen UN-Generalsekretärs Ban Ki-moon gegründet.

„Wir freuen uns sehr auf den wissenschaftlichen und technischen Austausch und darauf, unsere Expertise zu Erneuerbaren Energien mit Partnern weltweit teilen zu können“, sagt RLI-Geschäftsführerin Kathrin Goldammer. „Wir sehen die Bekämpfung des Klimawandels als globale Aufgabe, die nur gemeinsam gelingen kann. Das SDSN ist eine sehr lebhafte internationale Gemeinschaft, die diesem Bestreben einen idealen Rahmen bietet.“

Das RLI beschäftigt sich insbesondere im Forschungsfeld Off-Grid Systems schon länger mit den Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) der Vereinten Nationen. Mit unserer Forschung zur Elektrifizierung ländlicher Gebiete tragen wir zur Erreichung des SDG7 bei, bei dem es darum geht den Zugang zu nachhaltiger, bezahlbarer und moderner Energie für alle Menschen weltweit sicherzustellen.

 

© Foto: RLI