Investigating possible methods to produce a modular low-cost electrolysis system with production capabilities of approximately 100 kW using technology transfer from the automotive industry

Project period 01.11.2015 – 31.10.2018

In the course of the energy transition, electricity is increasingly being generated from fluctuating sources. Solar and wind energy generation depends on the weather and is subject to significant fluctuations. At times, renewable energy production thus temporarily exceeds regional demand. Hydrogen produced according to the so-called power-to-gas method plays a key role in resolving this challenge. By converting electricity to gas through the use of electrolysis, solar and wind power become storable over a long time period without losses. If required, hydrogen can be reconverted or used as environmentally compatible fuel for fuel cell vehicles. This option also serves to decarbonize the transport sector, i.e. changing over from fossil to renewable energy sources.
Until now, high investment costs have been a barrier to market entry, especially in the case of smaller electrolyzers. This is where the ecoPtG project comes into play: The straightforward approach with simplified production processes and affordable materials, such as plastics, intends to make the envisaged alkaline 100-kilowatt electrolysis suitable to the market. For this purpose, wedd are predominantly drawing on experience from the automotive industry. The focus is hereby on power electronics, steering and sensor technology as well as production process components for temperature control and media loops. In the automotive industry, many of these components, which also meet electrolysis requirements, are mass-produced cost-effectively. The ecoPtG project has been designed to investigate ways of transferring these technologies to hydrogen production.
In this project, the RLI is analyzing operation and application scenarios of the electrolysis system for hydrogen fueling stations and off-grid usage. Specific tasks include:

  • Heading the “Process-, Simulation- and Market Potential Analysis” aspect of the project
  • Development of a simulation model which takes into account the whole electrolysis system, covering all relevant effects:
    • Determination of a suitable level of detail in order to ensure qualitative simulation results at suitable computation times
    • Development of key performance indicators that facilitate an economical and technical evaluation
  • Development of the best operational strategies for both stationary and dynamic operation of electrolyzers:
    • Translation of the developed simulation software into a control tool that enables optimized operation of the electrolysis system that takes into account prognoses of the weather, the price of electricity, and demand
  • Analysis of the application potential of electrolysis systems in the mobility sector, off-grid locations, and in industry:
    • Determination of suitable locations with application potential for hydrogen
    • Determination of technical requirements for the system in conjunction with environmental conditions of the locations
    • Market potential analysis to determine economic viability of individual locations

Join the ecoPtG Project!

Are you thinking about integrating hydrogen applications into your daily operations? The RLI is inviting businesses and municipal bodies to join our research project by providing real scenarios from their day-to-day routines, to be used for our feasibility studies.

Possible applications are the hydrogen supply of refueling stations, personal car and commercial vehicle fleets, logistics hubs, trains, ships, and industrial processes, as well as hydrogen as an energy storage.

Would you like to know more or apply for the study? Contact us!.


Funded by the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy

Coordinated by Project Management Jülich.
PTJ Logo


Oliver Arnhold

Project Manager

Jörn Hartmann


Marlon Fleck


Stephen Bosch

Erforschung von Möglichkeiten des Technologietransfers aus der Automobilindustrie zur Realisierung eines modularen Low-Cost-Elektrolysesystems der 100 kW-Klasse

Projektzeitraum: 01.11.2015 – 31.10.2018

Im Zuge der Energiewende wird zunehmend Strom aus fluktuierenden Quellen erzeugt. Die Energiegewinnung aus Sonne und Wind ist abhängig von der Witterung und kann daher stark schwanken. So entstehen regional Situationen, bei denen die regenerative Stromproduktion den Bedarf zeitweise übersteigt. Eine Lösung für diese Herausforderung, liegt im sogenannten Power-to-Gas-Verfahren. Hierbei wird Strom aus Sonnen- und Windenergie mithilfe eines Elektrolyseurs in Wasserstoff umgewandelt, welcher ohne Verluste und über einen langen Zeitraum gespeichert werden kann. Bei Bedarf kann der Wasserstoff dann rückverstromt, oder aber als klimafreundlicher Kraftstoff von Brennstoffzellenfahrzeugen genutzt werden. Letzteres kommt der Dekarbonisierung des Verkehrs, also einem Umstieg von fossilen auf erneuerbare Energieträger zum Antrieb von Fahrzeugen, entgegen.

Bisher standen die hohen Investitionskosten gerade bei kleineren Elektrolyseuren einer Markteinführung im Wege. Hier setzt das Projekt ecoPtG an: Durch ein einfaches Konzept, vereinfachte Fertigungsverfahren und günstige Materialien wie Kunststoff soll die geplante alkalische 100-Kilowatt-Elektrolyse fit für den Markt werden. Um das zu erreichen, greifen wir vor allem auf Erfahrungen aus der Automobilindustrie zurück. Im Fokus stehen dabei die Leistungselektronik, Steuerung und Sensorik sowie verfahrenstechnische Komponenten, etwa für die Temperierung und Medienkreisläufe. Viele dieser Komponenten werden für Autos bereits günstig in Großserie hergestellt – und erfüllen zugleich die Anforderungen der Elektrolyse. Im Rahmen von ecoPtG wird geprüft, wie genau der Technologietransfer erfolgen kann.
In diesem Projekt analysiert das RLI Betriebs- und Anwendungsszenarien für das Elektrolysesystem im Kontext von Wasserstofftankstellen und Off-Grid-Anwendungen. Zu den konkreten Aufgaben gehört:

  • Leitung des Arbeitspakets „Prozess-, Simulations- und Marktpotenzialanalyse“
  • Entwicklung eines Simulationsmodells, welches das gesamte Elektrolysesystem mit allen relevanten Effekten abbilden kann:
    • Bestimmung eines geeigneten Detaillierungsgrads, um qualitativ hochwertige Simulationsergebnisse bei angemessener Rechenzeit zu ermöglichen
    • Ausarbeitung von Key Perfomance Indicators, die eine technische und wirtschaftliche Bewertung zulassen
  • Entwicklung einer Steuerungsstrategie für den stationären sowie den dynamischen Betrieb von Elektrolyseuren:
    • Übersetzung der entwickelten Simulations-Software in ein Steuerungstool, welches einen optimierten Betrieb der Elektrolysesysteme unter Einbeziehung von Wetter-, Strompreis- und Bedarfsprognosen, zulässt
  • Bestimmung von Einsatzpotenzialen von Elektrolysesystemen im Mobilitätssektor, an Off-Grid-Standorten und in der Wirtschaft:
    • Bestimmung passender Standorte mit Einsatzpotenzialen für Wasserstoff
    • Ermittlung technischer Anforderungen an das System bei standortabhängigen Umweltbedingungen
    • Marktpotenzialanalysen zur Bestimmung der Wirtschaftlichkeit der einzelnen Standorte

Beteiligen Sie sich am ecoPtG-Projekt!

Denken Sie darüber nach, Wasserstoffanwendungen in ihren Betrieb zu integrieren? Das RLI sucht Unternehmen oder Gemeinden, die sich für eine Machbarkeitsanalyse im Rahmen von ecoPtG zu Verfügung stellen würden.

Denkbar sind etwa die Versorgung von Tankstellen, PKW- und Nutzfahrzeugflotten, Logistik-Hubs, Zügen, Schiffen und Industrieprozessen sowie die Verwendung von Wasserstoff als Energiespeicher. Für diese Anwendungsfälle werden reale Szenarien gesucht, für die dann Machbarkeitsanalysen erstellt werden.

Möchten Sie mehr wissen, oder sich für die Studie bewerben? Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Nachricht.
IAV

ZSW

Hydrotechnik
Gefördert durch das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi).
Förderlogo BMWi

Koordiniert durch den Projektträger Jülich (PTJ).
PTJ Logo

Kontakt



Oliver Arnhold


Projektleiter

Jörn Hartmann


Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Marlon Fleck


Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Stephen Bosch


Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter