GIS based analysis of project areas and customer tagging
2. October 2015
RLS Stipendiatentag
10. October 2015

Rural electrification modelling in the framework of the Nigerian Energy Support Programme (NESP)

Project duration 01.01.2015 – 30.09.2017


Nigeria is the most populous country in Africa (189 million) with impressive geographic and ethnic diversity. At the same time, Nigeria currently has the highest absolute number of people of any country in Africa without access to electricity. For 2016 the International Energy Agency estimated an electrification rate of only 34 percent in the rural areas. One of the greatest challenges of the country is therefore to provide sustainable energy supply to people in rural, often remote areas.

Electrification plans for five Nigerian states were developed within project funded by EU and BMZ “Nigerian Energy Support Programme” (NESP). The different options – grid extension, mini-grids, and small-scale solutions for individual households, such as solar home systems – were modelled in detail using geographic information systems (GIS) and energy simulations. The electrification plans created thus are subdivided into three development phases, providing a structured road-map for the supply of remote regions.

RLI was assigned the task of electrification planning by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ), which advises the Nigerian government on energy infrastructure. The development of a basic supply of electricity was carried out with special regard for the best possible combination of sustainability and economic efficiency. The result is a spatial plan, divided into three phases, which has been visualized using an interactive web mapping tool.

>>>to the web mapping-tool<<<
web mapping tool

Photos


RLI assumes the following tasks in this project:


  • Definition of regions supplied and not supplied with electricity
  • Needs and load estimates for the regions to be supplied with electricity
  • Modelling of different options
    • Grid extension
    • Mini-grids
    • Stand-alone systems
  • Selection of most cost-efficient options taking into account individual local needs (least-cost planning)
  • Development of an extension road-map divided into phases
  • Visualization of results in a web mapping tool available online
The main result of the project is an interactively designed spatial electrification plan divided into phases. This plan was developed in close exchange with experts from the different states as well as national players and can be accessed here:

web mapping tool

Additional partial results:
  • A combination of grid extension, autonomous mini-grids for individual villages, and stand-alone systems for the smallest settlements depicts the most economical solution for a fast, nationwide electrification of Nigeria.
  • Especially the option of “interconnected mini-grids” plays a major role for a timely realization of the electrification: Mini-grids are suggested for many places, but will only be connected to the overall grid in the further course of electrification.
  • Solutions based on renewable energy sources constitute the most economical of decentralized options.
  • A strategic electrification plan can help decision-makers identify and implement economic and sustainable solutions.
  • The web-visualization of spatial electrification plans provides information to all those who are interested and may therefore encourage discussion and transparency in planning.
Funded by the European Union and the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ)

Contact



Catherina Cader


Ph.D. Candidate

Paul Bertheau


Ph.D. Candidate

Ludwig Hülk


Researcher

GIS based analysis of project areas and customer tagging
2. Oktober 2015
RLS Stipendiatentag
10. Oktober 2015

Ländliche Elektrifizierungsplanung im Rahmen des Nigerian Energy Support Programme (NESP)

Projektzeitraum 01.01.2015 – 30.09.2017


Nigeria ist das einwohnerreichste Land in Afrika (189 Millionen) und weist eine beeindruckende geographische und ethnische Vielfalt auf. Zugleich ist Nigeria aktuell das afrikanische Land mit der größten absoluten Anzahl an Menschen ohne Zugang zu Elektrizität. Die Internationale Energy Agency schätzte für das Jahr 2016 eine Elektrifizierungsrate von nur 34 Prozent im ländlichen Raum. Damit liegt eine der größten Herausforderung des Landes darin, Menschen in ländlichen, häufig entlegenen, Orten Zugang zu einer nachhaltigen Stromversorgung zu verschaffen.

Im von EU und BMZ geförderten Projekt „Nigerian Energy Support Programme“ (NESP), wurden Elektrifizierungspläne für fünf Bundesstaaten in Nigeria entwickelt. Die verschiedenen Optionen – Netzausbau, Mini-Grids und kleinskalige Lösungen auf Haushaltsebene, wie etwa Solar Home Systems – wurden mithilfe von Geoinformationssystemen (GIS) und Energiesimulationen im Detail modelliert. Die so entstandene Elektrifizierungsplanung unterteilt sich schließlich in drei Ausbauphasen, sodass sich ein strukturierter Fahrplan für die Versorgung der abgelegenen Regionen ergibt.

Das RLI übernahm die Elektrifizierungsplanung im Auftrag der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ), die die Nigerianische Regierung in Sachen Energieinfrastruktur berät. Die Entwicklung einer Energiegrundversorgung geschah vor allem unter dem Gesichtspunkt, Nachhaltigkeit und Wirtschaftlichkeit möglichst optimal miteinander zu vereinen. Das Resultat ist eine in drei Phasen unterteile räumliche Planung, die mithilfe eines interaktiven Web-Mapping-Tools visualisiert wurde.

>>>Zum Web-Mapping-Tool<<<
Web-Mapping-Tool

Fotos


Im Forschungsprojekt übernahm das RLI folgende Aufgaben:


  • Definition von elektrifizierten und nicht-elektrifizierten Regionen
  • Bedarfs- und Lastschätzung für die zu elektrifizierenden Regionen
  • Modellierung der verschiedenen Optionen
    • Netzerweiterung
    • Mini-Grid
    • Stand-Alone-Systemen
  • Auswahl der kostengünstigsten Optionen unter Berücksichtigung der individuellen Bedürfnisse vor Ort (Least-Cost-Priorisierung)
  • Entwicklung eines nach Phasen gegliederten Fahrplans für den Ausbau
  • Visualisierung der Ergebnisse in einem online verfügbaren Web-Mapping-Tool
Das Hauptergebnis des Projekts ist ein nach Phasen gegliederter und interaktiv gestalteter, räumlicher Elektrifizierungsplan. Dieser wurde in engem Austausch mit Expertinnen und Experten aus den verschiedenen Bundesstaaten sowie nationalen Akteuren entwickelt und ist hier einsehbar:

Web-Mapping-Tool

Weitere Teilergebnisse:
  • Eine Kombination aus Netzerweiterung, autarken Mini-Grids für einzelne Dörfer und Stand-Alone-Systemen für kleinste Siedlungen stellt die wirtschaftlichste Lösung für eine schnelle, flächendeckende Elektrifizierung Nigerias dar.
  • Insbesondere die Option der „interconnected Mini-Grids“ spielt eine große Rolle für eine zeitnah umsetzbare Elektrifizierung: Mini-Grids werden für viele Orte vorgeschlagen, werden aber erst im weiteren Verlauf der Elektrifizierung ans Gesamtnetz angeschlossen.
  • Für die dezentralen Optionen stellen auf Erneuerbaren Energien basierende Lösungen die wirtschaftlichste Option dar.
  • Eine strategische Elektrifizierungsplanung kann Entscheidungsträgerinnen und -trägern helfen, wirtschaftliche und nachhaltige Lösungen zu identifizieren und umzusetzen.
  • Die Online-Visualisierung der räumlichen Elektrifizierungspläne macht die Informationen allen Interessierten zugänglich und kann so Diskussionen anregen und Transparenz in der Planung schaffen.
Finanziert durch die EU und das Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ)

Kontakt



Philipp Blechinger


Teamleiter

Catherina Cader


Promovendin

Paul Bertheau


Promovend

Ludwig Hülk


Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter