REEEM: Final Meeting and Data Publication
10. September 2019
11.–12.09. | SINTEG Annual Conference 2019
11. September 2019

HyStarter

Concepts for a Regional Hydrogen Economy

Project Duration: 01.09.2019 – 31.07.2021

In the project HyStarter nine regions are supported in raising awareness about hydrogen and in the initial organization of an actor landscape. Together with the consortium of Spilett new technologies GmbH, Choice, Becker Büttner Held Consulting, Energy Engineers and the RLI, they are developing ideas for the implementation of hydrogen in the regional energy, transport and heating sectors. The HyStarter project is part of the funding initiative "HyLand - Hydrogen Regions in Germany" of the BMVI.

During the project, several stakeholder dialogues will be held with the regions, which aim to develop individual hydrogen concepts. The creation of the hydrogen concepts has various challenges that will be addressed together with the consortium. For this purpose, the regions were divided into categories:

  • Coastal land / Wind energy (Rügen-Stralsund)
  • Structural Change / Energy (Lusatia)
  • Industry / Automotive (Reutlingen)
  • Metropolitan Region / Mobility (Kiel)
  • Education / Knowledge transfer (Weimar and Marburg)
  • Medium-sized region (Allgäu and Landkreis Schaumburg)
  • Border region / European network (Neustadt a. d. Waldnaab)
In the first step, the concept will be tested for technical feasibility and, if necessary, adjusted and compared with current market developments.

In the second step, the concept will be examined by means of a model-based analysis for its macroeconomic and ecological effects and open design questions will be answered via optimization algorithms.

The third step is to break down the macroeconomic effects of the concept on a sector-by-sector basis in order to identify potential winners and losers in the concept and, if necessary, to develop compensation mechanisms. Furthermore, a first regulatory assessment of the concept should be carried out in order to identify any regulatory obstacles or opportunities and to develop strategies for action.

Finally, in the fourth step, the appraised and possibly optimized concept is transferred back to the dialogue process of the local actors in order to develop a common action path (roadmap).
In this project, the RLI analyzes the economic and environmental impacts of the hydrogen concepts:

  • For each region, mapping the selected concept idea into a region-specific simulation model
  • For each region simulative evaluation according to economic and ecological parameters of the concept idea as well as answering open design questions about optimization algorithms (€ total, €/year, €/CO2 avoided)

  • Spilett new technologies GmbH
  • Choice
  • Becker Büttner Held Consulting
  • Energy Engineers
Bundesministerium für Verkehr und Infrastruktur / NOW GmbH

RLS

Contact



Marlon Fleck


Project manager

Laura Wienpahl


Researcher
Image: NOW Gmbh

06.09. | RLI Energie-Dialog 2019
6. September 2019
10.–11.09. | 5th International Conference on Smart Energy Systems
10. September 2019

HyStarter

Konzepte für eine regionale Wasserstoffwirtschaft

Projektdauer: 1. September 2019 – 31. Juli 2021

Im Projekt HyStarter werden neun Regionen bei der Sensibilisierung zum Thema Wasserstoff und der initialen Organisation einer Akteurslandschaft unterstützt. Sie entwickeln gemeinsam mit dem Konsortium aus Spilett new technologies GmbH, Choice, Becker Büttner Held Consulting, Energy Engineers und dem RLI erste Konzeptideen für die Implementierung von Wasserstoff in den regionalen Energie-, Verkehrs- und Wärmesektor. Das Projekt HyStarter ist Teil der Fördermaßnahme "HyLand – Wasserstoffregionen in Deutschland" des BMVi.

Während der Projektlaufzeit werden mehrere Stakeholder-Dialoge mit den Regionen geführt, welche die Ausarbeitung eines individuellen Wasserstoff-Konzeptes zum Ziel haben. Die Erstellung des Wasserstoff-Konzeptes birgt unterschiedliche Herausforderungen, die gemeinsam mit dem Konsortium begegnet werden. Hierzu wurden die Regionen in Kategorien gegliedert:

  • Küstenland/Windenergie (Rügen-Stralsund)
  • Strukturwandel/Energie (Lausitz)
  • Industrie/Automobil (Reutlingen)
  • Metropolregion/Mobilität (Kiel)
  • Bildung/Wissenstransfer (Weimar und Marburg)
  • Mittelständisch geprägte Region (Allgäu und Landkreis Schaumburg)
  • Grenzregion/europäische Vernetzung (Neustadt a. d. Waldnaab)
Im ersten Schritt wird das Konzept auf die technische Machbarkeit hin geprüft und gegebenenfalls angepasst, sowie mit den aktuellen Marktentwicklungen abgeglichen.

Im zweiten Schritt wird das Konzept durch eine modellbasierte Analyse auf seine makroökonomischen und ökologischen Auswirkungen hin untersucht und offene Designfragen über Optimieralgorithmen beantwortet.

Im dritten Schritt werden die makroökonomischen Effekte des Konzeptes sektorspezifisch heruntergebrochen, um potentielle Gewinner und Verlierer des Konzeptes zu identifizieren und gegebenenfalls Ausgleichsmechanismen zu entwickeln. Des Weiteren soll eine erste regulative Begutachtung des Konzeptes durchgeführt werden, um etwaige regulative Hindernisse oder Chancen zu identifizieren und Handlungsstrategien zu entwickeln.

Im vierten Schritt schließlich wird das begutachtete und gegebenenfalls optimierte Konzept wieder an den Dialogprozess der lokalen Akteure übergeben, um einen gemeinsamen Handlungspfad (Fahrplan) zu entwickeln.

In diesem Projekt analysiert das RLI die ökonomischen und ökologischen Auswirkungen der Wasserstoff-Konzepte:

  • Je Region Abbildung der gewählten Konzeptidee in ein regionenspezifisches Simulationsmodell
  • Je Region simulative Auswertung nach ökonomischen und ökologischen Kenngrößen der Konzeptidee sowie Beantwortung von offenen Designfragen über Optimieralgorithmen (€gesamt, €/Jahr, €/CO2 vermieden)
  • Spilett new technologies
  • Choice
  • Becker Büttner Held Consulting
  • Energy Engineers


Bundesministerium für Verkehr und Infrastruktur / NOW GmbH

RLS

Kontakt



Laura Wienpahl


Projektleiterin

Tim Röpcke


Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter
Bild: NOW Gmbh