Speicherbedarf und Systemkosten in der Stromversorgung für energieautarke Regionen und Quartiere (Möller 2020)
5. November 2020
Study: E-Mobility and power grid – Market-oriented charging and grid restrictions
5. November 2020

Oliver Arnhold and team win DIN Innovation Award

November 5th 2020 | Oliver Arnhold and the consortium around the DIN SPEC 91433 have won the German Institute for Standardization (DIN) Innovator Award 2020. With these awards, DIN honors special projects and commitments in the field of standardization every year.

DIN-SPEC 91433 accelerates the setup of charging points

Oliver receives the prize in the category “Market launch of a product or service” for the DIN SPEC 91433 “Guidelines for search space and site identification as well as recommendations for reporting and approval procedures in charging infrastructure planning”, which he initiated. It is intended to accelerate the expansion of the publicly accessible charging infrastructure for electric vehicles and thus supports the German government’s goal of registering 7 to 10.5 million electric vehicles nationwide by 2030. The DIN SPEC offers a comprehensible structuring of the process for planning and constructing charging points. In this way, it supports municipal and other stakeholders by reducing barriers and reservations. The guideline also suggests interfaces between the actors involved to make communication more efficient.

Jury acknowledges contribution to the Transport Transition

The jury especially praised the strong practical relevance and the topicality of the submission. It emphasized that the Transport Transition can only be successful if potential users of e-vehicles have easy access to charging capacities. The DIN SPEC topic was therefore of significant environmental and social relevance and its work was also exemplary with regard to the participating consortium.

The guideline was developed by experts from the field

The guide was developed by a consortium of stakeholders from all sectors: In addition to the Reiner Lemoine Institute, which led the consortium, the Berlin Senate Department for Environment, Transport and Climate Protection, the National Organization Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technology (NOW), the Berlin Agency for Electromobility (eMO), the Association of Municipal Enterprises (VKU), Energie Codes & Services GmbH, the Bürgerenergiegenossenschaft Inselwerke, inno2grid GmbH, Cleopa GmbH, and the RLI Start-Up Localiser. The project received funding from the BMWi-funded project EmoStar²K.

Three DIN Awards in total

This year, the DIN Young Scientist Award for scientific work went to Janine Korduan from TU Berlin for her master’s thesis entitled “Standardization as a guide from waste to fertilizer”. The Innovation Award in the research project category went to DIN SPEC 91404 “Guidelines for the standardization of maintenance processes” from the MeProLi research project, initiated by Tobias Leitung from FIR e.V. at RWTH Aachen University.

Press release of DIN e.V.
More info on DIN SPEC 91433
Download DIN SPEC 91433 at Beuth-Verlag