Hybrid Mini-Grid Sizing with micrOgridS – An Open-Source Tool for Optimizing Renewable Energy Components within Mini-Grids (Berendes 2018)
13. August 2018
Carsharing with fuel cell vehicles: Sizing hydrogen refueling stations based on refueling behavior (Grueger et al. 2018)
14. August 2018

Transformation Processes for Realizing Sustainable Energy Supply on the Philippines – An Interdisciplinary Analysis of Success Factors

Project duration: February 2017 - February 2020

This PhD project addresses the question of how transformation processes need to be designed to facilitate the successful integration of renewable energy on isolated islands.

The transformation of global energy supply systems, from the use of fossil resources to renewable resources, is a key step in tackling global climate change. In industrialized countries, this process has already been initiated on all levels and is comprehensively monitored by science. In developing and emerging countries, such as the Philippines, the upcoming transformation process has so far been insufficiently studied and understood.

The Philippines are evolving at a rapid pace from a developing to an emerging country, but rapid economic growth remains limited to a few key regions, while the rest of the country remains lagging behind in terms of living standards, security of supply, and economic development opportunities. In addition, the country faces challenges such as the effects of climate change and globalization, major social inequality, and rapid urbanization.
A particular challenge lies in the country's geographical structure: Hundreds of smaller and remote islands need reliable and sustainable electricity to improve local living conditions. Currently, the quality of supply, which is mainly based on polluting and expensive diesel generators, is not sufficient. At the same time, renewable energy resources are readily available, so a sustainable transformation of the diesel-based systems to hybrid systems is a reasonable option. However, most recent investments in renewable energy systems in the Philippines have proven unsustainable (even in the short term). Studies suggest that the reasons for these failures are due to the way the transformation of energy systems was managed in these particular projects and not to the lack of reliability of renewable energy.

The aim of this doctoral project is to develop recommendations for action and solutions that prevent the failure of future transformation projects. These should also be transferable to other regions and support the implementation of a sustainable energy supply. An interdisciplinary approach is chosen to answer the questions from different fields (e.g., technology, society, etc.) and to address relevant stakeholders.


© Photo: Paul Bertheau , , Solar panels in Cobrador, Philippines, CC BY-SA 4.0
The PhD project is divided into three phases:

Phase 1

  • Theoretical analysis of transformation processes and the underlying mechanisms, dynamics and success factors

Phase 2

  • Transfer of the knowledge gained to the study area – the Philippines
  • Identification of country-specific barriers and drivers for the transformation of energy systems
  • Evaluation of the success factors with the help of an interdisciplinary method set

Phase 3

  • Development of actual recommendations for the acceleration of transformation in the Philippines
Europa-Universität Flensburg
PhD project funded by a scholarship from

Reiner Lemoine Stiftung

Contact



Paul Bertheau


PhD candidate

Hybrid Mini-Grid Sizing with micrOgridS – An Open-Source Tool for Optimizing Renewable Energy Components within Mini-Grids (Berendes 2018)
13. August 2018
Carsharing with fuel cell vehicles: Sizing hydrogen refueling stations based on refueling behavior (Grueger et al. 2018)
14. August 2018

Transformation Processes for Realizing Sustainable Energy Supply on the Philippines – An Interdisciplinary Analysis of Success Factors

Projektzeitraum Februar 2017 – Februar 2020

Dieses Promotionsprojekt behandelt die Frage, wie Transformationsprozesse gestaltet werden müssen, um eine erfolgreiche Integration von Erneuerbaren Energien auf abgelegenen Inseln zu ermöglichen.

Die Transformation der globalen Energieversorgungssysteme, von der Nutzung fossiler Ressourcen zu der Nutzung erneuerbarer Ressourcen, ist eine zentrale Maßnahme in der Bekämpfung des weltweiten Klimawandels. In den Industriestaaten wurde dieser Prozess bereits auf gesamtgesellschaftlicher Ebene angestoßen und wird umfassend wissenschaftlich begleitet. In Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern, wie zum Beispiel den Philippinen, ist der bevorstehende Transformationsprozess bislang nur unzureichend untersucht und verstanden worden.

Die Philippinen entwickeln sich in rasantem Tempo von einem Entwicklungs- zum Schwellenland – allerdings bleibt das rasche Wirtschaftswachstum auf wenige zentrale Regionen beschränkt, während die übrigen Teile des Landes in Bezug auf Lebensstandard, Versorgungssicherheit und wirtschaftliche Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten weit zurückbleiben. Zusätzlich steht das Land vor Herausforderungen wie etwa den Auswirkungen des Klimawandels und der Globalisierung, einer großen sozialen Ungleichheit und einer rasanten Urbanisierung.
Eine besondere Herausforderung liegt in der geografischen Struktur des Landes: Hunderte kleinere und abgelegene Inseln benötigen eine zuverlässige und nachhaltige Stromversorgung, um die Lebensbedingungen vor Ort verbessern zu können. Aktuell ist die Qualität der Versorgung, die überwiegend auf umweltbelastenden und teuren Dieselgeneratoren basiert, nicht ausreichend. Gleichzeitig sind Erneuerbare-Energie-Ressourcen gut verfügbar, eine nachhaltige Transformation der dieselbasierten Systeme zu Hybridsystemen bietet sich also an. Allerdings haben sich die meisten bisherigen Investitionen in Erneuerbare-Energie-Systeme auf den Philippinen als nicht nachhaltig (selbst auf kurze Sicht) erwiesen. Studien legen nahe, dass die Gründe für das Scheitern auf die Art der Umsetzung der Transformation von Energiesystemen und nicht auf eine mangelnde Zuverlässigkeit von Erneuerbaren Energien zurück zu führen sind.

Das Ziel der Promotion ist es, Handlungsempfehlungen und Lösungsmöglichkeiten zu erarbeiten, die das Scheitern zukünftiger Transformationsprojekte verhindern. Diese sollen auch auf andere Regionen übertragbar sein und die Implementierung einer nachhaltigen Energieversorgung unterstützen. Ein interdisziplinärer Ansatz wird gewählt, um die Fragestellungen aus verschiedenen Systemen (z.B. Technik, Gesellschaft, etc.) beantworten und entsprechende Akteure ansprechen zu können.


© Foto: Paul Bertheau, , Solar panels in Cobrador, Philippines, CC BY-SA 4.0
Das Promotionsvorhaben ist in drei Phasen unterteilt:

Phase 1

  • Theoretische Auseinandersetzung mit Transformationsprozessen und den zugrundeliegenden Mechanismen, Dynamiken und Erfolgsfaktoren

Phase 2

  • Übertragung der gewonnenen Erkenntnisse auf das Untersuchungsgebiet – die Philippinen
  • Identifizierung landesspezifischer Barrieren und Treiber für die Transformation der Energiesysteme
  • Bewertung der Erfolgsfaktoren mit Hilfe eines interdisziplinären Methodensatzes

Phase 3

  • Erarbeitung konkreter Handlungsempfehlungen für die Beschleunigung der Transformation auf den Philippinen

Europa-Universität Flensburg
Promotionsvorhaben gefördert im Rahmen eines Stipendiums der

Reiner Lemoine Stiftung

Kontakt



Paul Bertheau


Promovend