AGYA Annual Conference
26. October 2018
Open_eGo project closure
31. October 2018

Closing workshop open_eGo

October 30th 2018 | Berlin
Representation of the State of Schleswig-Holstein to the Federal Government

The three-year research project open_eGo is coming to an end. Much has been achieved and the goal of developing an open-source network planning tool has been achieved. This instrument and other project results will be presented to funding agencies and all interested parties during a workshop in Berlin.

open_eGo was the largest of the many RLI projects under the umbrella of the open-source and open-science movement. The aim of open_eGo was to use models to generate cost-optimized solutions for the expansion and conversion of the power grid for the energy transition. The differing interests of the more than 800 different network operators in Germany often lead to individual solutions, which preclude an integrated network planning. For example, energy system analyses and modeling are usually developed proprietary, the origin of the input data used is thus intransparent. So far, there hasn’t been a suitable network planning tool that can take into account an economically optimal use of flexibility options at various network levels. This instrument was now developed in open_eGo. At the heart of open_ego is the virtual OpenEnergy platform (OEP), which includes an open energy database. It is open to the public and aims to create transparency and participation opportunities for interested stakeholders.

open_eGo is funded by the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy. The Flensburg University of Applied Sciences took over the management of the project consortium, which included the RLI, the European University of Flensburg, the German Aerospace Center, and the Otto von Guericke University Magdeburg.

As part of the closing workshops, the functions of the network planning tools and the OEP will be explained in six workshop sessions. Please find the agenda and a registration link here.

© Logo: RLI, CC-BY-SA-4.0

Kongress: Netzwerk21
10. Oktober 2018

Abschlussworkshop open_eGo

30. Oktober 2018 | Berlin
Vertretung des Landes Schleswig-Holstein beim Bund

Das dreijährige Forschungsprojekt open_eGo geht seinem Ende entgegen. Viel wurde geschafft und das Ziel, ein Open-Source-Netzplanungsinstrument zu entwickeln, erreicht. Dieses Instrument sowie weitere Projektergebnisse werden im Rahmen eines Workshops in Berlin den Fördermittelgebern und allen Interessierten vorgestellt.

open_eGo war das bisher größte der vielen RLI-Projekte, die unter dem Dach der Open-Source und Open-Science-Bewegung stehen. Ziel von open_eGo war es, mithilfe von Modellen kostenoptimale Lösung für den Aus- und Umbau des Stromnetzes für die Energiewende zu generieren. Die unterschiedlichen Interessen der über 800 verschiedenen Netzbetreiber in Deutschland führen nämlich häufig zu Einzellösungen, die einer ganzheitlichen Netzplanung entgegenstehen. Beispielsweise werden Energiesystemanalysen und -modellierungen meist proprietär entwickelt, der Ursprung der verwendeten Eingangsdaten ist dadurch intransparent. Es fehlte bislang an einem geeigneten Netzplanungsinstrument, das eine volkswirtschaftlich optimale Nutzung von Flexibilitätsoptionen auf verschiedenen Netzebenen berücksichtigen kann. Dieses Instrument wurde in open_eGo entwickelt. Herzstück von open_ego ist die virtuelle OpenEnergy-Plattform (OEP), die eine offene Energiedatenbank beinhaltet. Sie ist öffentlich zugänglich und soll Transparenz und Partizipationsmöglichkeiten für interessierte Akteurinnen und Akteure schaffen.

open_eGo wird vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie gefördert. Die Hochschule Flensburg übernahm die Leitung des Projektkonsortiums, zu dem neben dem RLI auch die Europa-Universiät Flensburg, das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt sowie die Otto-von-Guericke-Universität Magdeburg gehörten.

Im Rahmen der Abschlussveranstaltung werden die Funktionen der Netzplanungstools sowie der OEP in sechs Workshop-Sessions erklärt. Das Programm und die Möglichkeit zur Anmeldung finden Sie hier.

© Logo: RLI, CC-BY-SA-4.0