Martha Hoffmann

B.Sc. Energy and Process Engineering (TU Berlin)

+49 (0)30 1208 434 88


Researcher

Info

Martha Hoffmann started working as a researcher in the Research Unit Off-Grid Systems at RLI in July 2019 after having worked there as a student assistant since November 2018. She conducts research on the simulation and optimization of locally distinguishable energy systems with sector coupling in the scope of the H2020 project E-LAND.

Martha was enrolled in the master's degree Renewable Energy Systems at TU Berlin. In context of her work, she wrote her final thesis examining the future operation options of micro grids interconnecting with weak national grids. For this, she developed a simulation and optimization tool for electric energy systems away from or connected to a central electricity grid, based on the Open Energy Modelling Framework (oemof).

Martha holds a bachelor's degree in Energy and Process Engineering from TU Berlin. After conducting a student research project dealing with swarm grids, she spent three months in India for an internship, during which she worked on electrification with micro grids.

Martha Hoffmann

B.Sc. Energie- und Prozesstechnik (TU Berlin)

+49 (0)30 1208 434 88


Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

Info

Martha Hoffmann ist seit Juli 2019 wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin im Forschungsbereich Off-Grid Systems am RLI, in dem sie bereits ab November 2018 als studentische Mitarbeiterin tätig war. Sie beschäftigt sich nun in Verbindung mit dem H2020 Project E-LAND mit der Simulation und Optimierung von lokal abgrenzbaren Energiesystemen mit Sektorkopplung.

Martha studierte im Masterstudiengang Regenerative Energiesysteme an der TU Berlin und fertigte am RLI eine Abschlussarbeit an, in der sie mögliche Betriebsweisen von Micro Grids, welche an ein unzuverlässiges nationales Stromnetz angeschlossen werden, analysierte. Dabei entwickelte sie ein adaptierbares Simulationstool für elektrische Energiesysteme mit oder ohne Netzanschluss, basierend auf dem Open Energy Modelling Framework (oemof).

Ihren Bachelorabschluss machte sie in Energie- und Prozesstechnik an der TU Berlin. Nach einem studentischen Forschungsprojekt, das sich mit Swarm Grids beschäftigte, absolvierte Martha ein dreimonatiges Praktikum in Indien, in welchem sie sich mit der Elektrifizierung durch Micro Grids beschäftigte.