The German Research Network on Energy System Analysis (Hülk et al. 2018)
13. November 2018
Discussion: E-Mobility and Charging Infrastructure in Brandenburg
14. November 2018

Study on Renewable Energy Off-Grid Components of NDCs and their Role for Climate Change Mitigation

Project Duration: October 2018 – December 2019

The aim of the project is to develop strategies for the use of renewable energy that can support climate protection in developing countries. Therefore, it is necessary to create and strengthen local understanding of climate protection measures. In addition, the inclusion of off-grid components in the Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs), in which the signatory states to the Paris Climate Change Convention commit themselves to elaborate national climate protection targets, should be achieved.

In this project, RLI will use a GIS analysis to analyze the size of the population without access to electricity. Since the majority of people without access to electricity live in remote and rural areas, the installation of off-grid systems with a high proportion of renewable energy sources is an option. Based on a spatial analysis method (GIS), different electrification scenarios for the target year 2030 will be simulated to determine the proportion of electrification options solar home systems, mini -grids and grid extensions for each of the investigated countries. The market potential and climate relevance of off-grid systems will then be quantified, with the latter playing a central role in the study. For all scenarios and electrification options, the savings of greenhouse gas emissions compared to conventional power generation technologies will be determined and their impact on climate targets evaluated.

Moreover, RLI will summarize the hurdles in the off-grid area and develop solutions for them (blueprint). All important factors such as political measures, regulations, national and international financing possibilities, innovation, capacity development and data processing will be taken into account. From all these data, RLI finally creates a ranking list of the countries according to their funding needs, from which three countries will be selected, which will receive special support in the form of concrete project and financing ideas for the expansion of off-grid facilities. This can be provided by development banks, climate funds or targeted projects of the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety.

© Image: CC0 1.0

RLI assumes the following tasks in this project:

  • Literature research
  • GIS-based modelling of electrification scenarios
  • Determination and assessment (Impact Assessment) of the potential for savings in greenhouse gases (Climate Change Mitigation Potentials) using methods of the Clean Development Mechanisms laid down in the Kyoto Protocol.
  • Scenario development
  • Implementation of workshops
  • Carrying out exploratory trips
  • Development of a sample solution (blueprint) for repeating hurdles in the off-grid area
  • Development of concrete project and financing ideas
  • Development of a web tool for visualizing the results
GIZ

Sarah Berendes


Project Manager

Catherina Cader


Researcher

The German Research Network on Energy System Analysis (Hülk et al. 2018)
13. November 2018
Diskussionsveranstaltung: E-Mobilität und Ladeinfrastruktur im Tourismus verständlich!
14. November 2018

Study on Renewable Energy Off-Grid Components of NDCs and their Role for Climate Change Mitigation

Projektzeitraum: Oktober 2018 – Februar 2019

Ziel des Projekts ist die Entwicklung von Strategien für die Nutzung Erneuerbarer Energien, die den Klimaschutz in Entwicklungsländern unterstützen können. Dafür ist es nötig, das Verständnis für Klimaschutzmaßnahmen vor Ort zu schaffen und zu stärken. Außerdem soll die Aufnahme von Off-Grid-Komponenten in die Zielvereinbarungen (Nationally Determined Contributions – NDCs), in denen die Vertragsstaaten des Pariser Klimaschutzabkommen sich verpflichten, nationale Klimaschutzziele auszuarbeiten, erreicht werden.

Das RLI wird in diesem Projekt mittels einer GIS-Analyse analysieren, wie groß der Anteil der Bevölkerung ohne Zugang zu elektrischer Stromversorgung ist. Da der größte Anteil der Menschen ohne Zugang zu Elektrizität in abgelegenen und ländlichen Regionen lebt, kommt die Installation von Off-Grid Systemen mit hohen Anteilen regenerativer Energiequellen infrage. Basierend auf einer räumlichen Analysemethode (GIS) werden verschiedene Elektrifizierungsszenarien für das Zieljahr 2030 simuliert und somit der Anteil der Elektrifizierungsoptionen Solar Home Systeme, Mini-Grids sowie Netzerweiterung für jedes der untersuchten Länder ermittelt. Anschließend werden das Markpotenzial sowie die Klimarelevanz von Off-Grid-Systemen quantifiziert, wobei letzteres eine zentrale Rolle in der Studie spielt. Für alle Szenarien und Elektrifizierungsoptionen werden die Einsparungen der Treibhausgasemissionen gegenüber konventioneller Energieerzeugungstechnologien bestimmt und deren Einfluss auf die Klimaziele bewertet.

Darüber hinaus wird das RLI die Hürden im Off-Grid-Bereich zusammenfassen und Lösungsansätze für diese entwickeln (Blueprint). Hierbei werden alle wichtigen Faktoren, wie politische Maßnahmen, Regulierungen, nationale und internationale Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten, Innovation, Kapazitätsentwicklung und Datenverarbeitung berücksichtigt. Aus all diesen Daten erstellt das RLI schließlich eine Rangliste der Länder nach ihrem Förderbedarf, aus der anschließend drei Länder ausgewählt werden, welche eine besondere Unterstützung durch konkrete Projekt- und Finanzierungsideen für die Erweiterung von Off-Grid Anlagen erhalten. Diese kann durch Entwicklungsbanken, Klimafonds, oder gezielte Projekte des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit geleistet werden.

© Bild: CC0 1.0

Das RLI übernimmt in diesem Projekt folgende Aufgaben:

  • Literaturrecherche
  • GIS-basierte Modellierung der Elektrifizierungsszenarien
  • Ermittlung und Bewertung (Impact Assessment) des Einsparungspotenzials klimaschädlicher Treibhausgase (engl. Climate Change Mitigation Potentials) mit Methoden des im Kyoto-Protokoll festgeschriebenen Clean Development Mechanisms
  • Szenarienentwicklung
  • Durchführung von Workshops
  • Durchführen von Erkundungsreisen
  • Entwicklung einer Musterlösung (Blueprint) für sich wiederholende Hürden im Off-Grid-Bereich
  • Entwicklung konkreter Projekt- und Finanzierungsideen
GIZ

Sarah Berendes


Projektleiterin

Catherina Cader


Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

Philipp Blechinger


Bereichsleiter