solar4food
13. March 2019
Feasibility study for the electrification of public bus transport in Detmold
18. March 2019

C-BEAR+

California-Berlin Exchange and Research Plus

Project period: January 2019 - June 2021

In the project "California-Berlin Exchange and Research Plus" (C-BEAR+), a research cooperation between Reiner Lemoine Institut in Germany and various research institutions in the USA is being established.
The cooperation is intended to bundle the partners' research efforts on the topic of "Universal access to sustainable energy" (as defined in SDG7) and thereby support the achievement of this development objective. A second goal is to strengthen transatlantic relations and contribute to intercultural exchange.
The project consists of various modules that provide an opportunity for intensive scientific and intercultural exchange and networking at different levels:

  1. Lectures and workshops
    • An exploratory mission ("scoping mission") of the RLI management serves to introduce the network to related research institutions in the USA through visits and lectures at various universities in the USA, to establish contacts and to develop these further.
    • In the framework of joint workshops and a conference, young scientists and experienced researchers from both countries can exchange ideas, get to know new methods and develop and discuss publication and project ideas together.
  2. Scientific and intercultural exchange (institutional) A Summer School in Berlin and a Spring School in the USA provide American and German students and doctoral students with an intensive insight into various research methods in the fields of sustainable energy access and renewable energy. In addition, joint visits to relevant institutions and start-ups as well as cultural institutions will be part of the program.
  3. Scientific and intercultural exchange (individual)/Fellow program Within the framework of C-BEAR+, doctoral students and postdocs have the opportunity to complete a research stay of up to three months as a Fellow at one of the partner institutions. The aim is to get to know the research of the partner institution and to jointly develop publications and project ideas.
The RLI is responsible for the coordination and implementation of the various activities.
C-BEAR+ receives funding from the Transatlantic Program of the Federal Republic of Germany from funds of the European Recovery Program (ERP) of the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy (BMWi).
The RLI is responsible for managing C-Bear+ and for coordinating and implementing the various modules of the project. These include:

Scoping mission: March 6th – April 4th 2019

RLI Managing Director Kathrin Goldammer visits three American universities to present the program at various chairs and discuss first steps with network partners. Her stations are:


Summer School: August 5-17, 2019

Sixteen motivated young researchers (eight from the USA and eight from Germany) will be given the opportunity within the framework of the C-BEAR+ Summer School to intensively deal with interdisciplinary research methods and approaches in the field of sustainable energy supply and renewable energy. This includes the modeling of energy systems, GIS instruments, and social science methods.
The program will also include visits to various German institutions and companies, including Agora Energiewende, Solarkiosk, and IASS in Potsdam. Cultural events are also planned.


Spring School: Spring 2020, USA

Details are to follow in fall 2019
RAEL

TU Berlin

ASU

University of Kentucky

John Hopkins University

BMWi

RLS

Contact



Clara Jütte


Project Manager

Kathrin Goldammer


Managing Director

Lukas Berger


Student Assistant

open_MODEX: RLI leitet Open-Source-Forschungsprojekt zur Energiesystemanalyse
13. März 2019
Machbarkeitsstudie zur Elektrifizierung des Busverkehrs in Detmold
18. März 2019

C-BEAR+

California-Berlin Exchange and Research Plus

Im Projekt „California-Berlin Exchange and Research Plus“ (C-BEAR+) wird eine Forschungskooperation zwischen dem RLI in Deutschland und verschiedenen Forschungseinrichtungen den USA aufgebaut.
Durch die Kooperation sollen die Forschungsleistungen der Partner zum Thema „Universeller Zugang zu nachhaltiger Energie“ (wie im SDG7 festgelegt) gebündelt und dadurch die Erreichung dieses Entwicklungsziels unterstützt werden. Ein zweites Ziel ist es, die transatlantischen Beziehungen zu stärken und zum interkulturellen Austausch beizutragen.
Das Projekt enthält unterschiedliche Elemente, die Gelegenheit zum intensiven wissenschaftlichen und interkulturellen Austausch sowie zur Vernetzung auf verschiedenen Ebenen geben:

  1. Vorträge und Workshops
    • Eine Erkundungsmission („Scoping mission“) der RLI-Geschäftsführung dient dazu, durch Besuche und Vorträge an verschiedenen Universitäten in den USA, das Netzwerk den themenverwandten Forschungsinstitutionen in den USA vorzustellen, Kontakte aufzubauen und diese weiterzuentwickeln.
    • Im Rahmen von gemeinsamen Workshops und einer Konferenz können wissenschaftlicher Nachwuchs und erfahrene Forschende aus beiden Ländern sich inhaltlich austauschen, neue Methoden kennenlernen und gemeinsam Publikations- und Projektideen entwickeln und diskutieren.
  2. Wissenschaftlicher und interkultureller Austausch (institutionell) Eine Summer School in Berlin sowie eine Spring School in den USA ermöglichen amerikanischen und deutschen Studierenden und Promovierenden einen intensiven Einblick in verschiedene Forschungsmethoden in den Bereichen Nachhaltiger Energiezugang und Erneuerbare Energien. Darüber hinaus sind gemeinsame Besuche bei relevanten Institutionen und Start-Ups sowie kultureller Einrichtungen Teil des Programms.
  3. Wissenschaftlicher und interkultureller Austausch (individuell)/Fellow-Programm Promovierende und PostDocs haben im Rahmen von C-BEAR+ die Möglichkeit, einen bis zu dreimonatigen Forschungsaufenthalt als Fellow an einer der Partnerinstitutionen zu absolvieren. Ziel ist es dabei, die Forschung der Partnerinstitution kennenzulernen und gemeinsam Publikations- und Projektideen zu entwickeln.
Das RLI übernimmt die Koordination und Durchführung der verschiedenen Aktivitäten. Das Projekt wird durch das Transatlantik-Programm der Bundesrepublik Deutschland aus Mitteln des European Recovery Program (ERP) des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) gefördert.
Das RLI leitet C-Bear+ und ist verantwortlich für Koordination und Durchführung der verschiedenen Elemente im Projekt. Diese umfassen:

Scoping-Mission: 6. März bis 4. April 2019

RLI-Geschäftsführerin Kathrin Goldammer besucht drei amerikanische Universitäten, um das Programm an verschiedenen Lehrstühlen vorzustellen und erste Schritte mit Netzwerkpartnern zu diskutieren. Ihre Stationen sind:


Summer School: 5.-17. August 2019

Sechzehn motivierte Nachwuchsforschende (acht aus den USA und acht aus Deutschland) werden im Rahmen der C-BEAR-Summer-School die Möglichkeit erhalten, sich intensiv mit interdisziplinären Forschungsmethoden und Ansätzen im Bereich Nachhaltige Energieversorgung und Erneuerbare Energie zu beschäftigen. Dazu gehören etwa die Modellierung von Energiesystemen, GIS-Instrumente und sozialwissenschaftliche Methoden.
Das Programm wird zusätzlich den Besuch von verschiedenen deutschen Institutionen und Unternehmen beinhalten, unter anderem Agora Energiewende, Solarkiosk und das IASS in Potsdam. Außerdem sind kulturelle Veranstaltungen geplant.


Spring School: Frühjahr 2020, USA

Details ab Ende 2019
RAEL

TU Berlin

ASU

University of Kentucky

John Hopkins University

BMWi

RLS

Kontakt



Clara Jütte


Projektleiterin

Kathrin Goldammer


Geschäftsführerin

Philipp Blechinger


Bereichsleiter

Lukas Berger


Studentischer Mitarbeiter