Project duration: October 2018 - September 2020

The overall objective of the Nigerian Energy Support Programme II (NESP II) is the creation of a comprehensive data portal on energy access for Nigeria. It is a follow-up project of the first NESP project in which RLI partnered with INTEGRATION GmbH in a joint venture. During this first project, electrification plans were developed for five Nigerian States about how rural areas could possibly be supplied with electricity.

In the NESP II Project, RLI will again work together with the partner INTEGRATION GmbH. As part of the project, the aim is to collect and create comprehensive datasets regarding the status of electrification across Nigeria.

Data on the location of settlements and their respective status of electrification will be collected, created and developed by using existing datasets, such as global population data sets derived from satellite imagery, official data, as well as crowd-sourced data from OpenStreetMap.

In addition, new data will be collected by surveys, covering various level of detail, such as household or village surveys. The data creation is accompanied by the establishment of a database management system to allow for a structured use, add-on and update of the data.

Resulting datasets will be visualized and made available to respective stakeholders. Based on this, data analyses can be used to inform the public sector to lead to decisions as well as being an indicator for private sector market potentials.

RLI assumes the following tasks within this research project:

  1. Collect and create comprehensive datasets regarding the status of electrification across Nigeria by
    • Using existing data sources
    • Creating new datasets by digitizing building footprints using high resolution satellite imagery
    • Supporting survey development to collect more detailed information on local circumstances. Surveys will be conducted in all six geopolitical zones of Nigeria.
  2. Accompany the establishment of a spatial database management system
  3. Support the visualization of the data and information in cooperation with Nigerian counterparts, such as the Ministry of Power, Works, and Housing (FMPWH).
Funded by the European Union and the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ)

Contact



Catherina Cader


Project Manager

Philipp Blechinger


Head of Unit

Setu Pelz


PhD Candidate

Das Gesamtziel des Nigerian Energy Support Programme II (NESP II) ist die Schaffung eines umfassenden Datenportals über den Energiezugang für Nigeria. Es ist ein Folgeprojekt des ersten NESP Projekts, bei dem das RLI mit der INTEGRATION GmbH zusammenarbeitete. Im Rahmen dieses ersten Projekts wurden für fünf nigerianische Bundesstaaten Elektrifizierungspläne entwickelt, wie ländliche Gebiete möglicherweise mit Elektrizität versorgt werden könnten.

Im Projekt NESP II wird das RLI wieder mit dem Partner INTEGRATION GmbH zusammenarbeiten. Ziel des Projektes ist es, umfassende Datensätze zum Stand der Elektrifizierung in ganz Nigeria zu sammeln und zu erstellen.

Daten über die Lage der Siedlungen und ihren jeweiligen Stand der Elektrifizierung werden unter Verwendung vorhandener Datensätze gesammelt, erstellt und weiterentwickelt, wie z.B. globale Bevölkerungsdatensätze, die aus Satellitenbildern, offiziellen Daten sowie von Menschenmengen stammenden Daten aus OpenStreetMap.

Darüber hinaus werden neue Daten durch Umfragen gesammelt, die verschiedene Detaillierungsebenen abdecken, wie z.B. Haushalts- oder Dorferhebungen. Die Datenerstellung geht einher mit der Einrichtung eines Datenbankmanagementsystems, um eine strukturierte Nutzung, Ergänzung und Aktualisierung der Daten zu ermöglichen.

Die resultierenden Datensätze werden visualisiert und den jeweiligen Interessengruppen zur Verfügung gestellt. Darauf aufbauend können Datenanalysen sowohl als Entscheidungsgrundlage für den öffentlichen Sektor als auch als Indikator für privatwirtschaftliche Marktpotenziale genutzt werden.

Projektdauer: Oktober 2018 - September 2020

Im Forschungsprojekt übernimmt das RLI folgende Aufgaben:


  1. Sammlung und Erstellung umfassender Datensätze zum Stand der Elektrifizierung in ganz Nigeria durch
    • Verwendung vorhandener Datenquellen
    • Erstellung neuer Datensätze durch Digitalisierung von Gebäude-Fußabdrücken unter Verwendung von hochauflösenden Satellitenbildern
    • Unterstützung der Entwicklung von Umfragen zur Sammlung detaillierter Informationen über die örtlichen Gegebenheiten. Die Umfragen werden in allen sechs geopolitischen Zonen Nigerias durchgeführt.
  2. Begleitung der Einrichtung eines Verwaltungssystems für räumliche Datenbanken
  3. Unterstützung der Visualisierung der Daten und Informationen in Zusammenarbeit mit nigerianischen Partnern wie dem Ministerium für Energie, Arbeit und Wohnungsbau (FMPWH)
Finanziert durch die EU und das Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ)

Kontakt



Catherina Cader


Projektleiterin

Philipp Blechinger


Bereichsleiter

Setu Pelz


Doktorand