A look back at the Travelling Conference 2019
12. March 2019
C-BEAR+
15. March 2019

solar4food

Project duration: February 2019 - January 2020

Research within this project focuses on improving date-drying processes in Sudan using solar thermal drying equipment in the low-tech sector.

The traditional date-drying method is based on laying the fruit out in the open air with the aid of solar radiation. This causes harvest losses, due to the infestation with insects, rot, or theft by animals and humans. Furthermore, the quality of the dates is affected by direct sunlight and dust.

Together with the Sudanese Research Institute for Environment, Natural Resources and Desertification (ENDRI), RLI is investigating the value chain of date cultivation on small farms. The analysis and evaluation of the individual work steps will determine, which type of dryer best meets the needs of the farmers. By using a solar dryer, losses are avoided and the quality of the dried dates can be improved.

With the results of the analysis, the solar dryer type will be adapted to the needs of small farms. The aim is to design a low-cost prototype, that can easily be replicated and can be assembled on the farms, using local resources and publicly accessible building instructions.

In cooperation with the energy seminar of TU Berlin, students will design a prototype and gain experience in self-construction. This experience will be considered for the creation of an instruction manual. The manual will be handed over to the ENDRI, where a group of students will build the solar dryer on-site.

In a test phase, the quality, nutritional values, and moisture content of the dates will be measured before, during, and after the drying process.

The cooperation between RLI and ENDRI is based on the network of the Arab-German Young Academy of Sciences and Humanities (AGYA), which promotes interdisciplinary cooperation between young Arab and German researchers and students. The project is financed within the AGYA network by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Science (BMBF).

© Image: Mona Mok, on Unsplash

RLI assumes the following tasks within this research project:

  • Contribution and evaluation of a field study among small farmers in northern Sudan conducting information about harvest quantities, drying and marketing processes of the cultivated dates. These informations will support the designing process of a solar dryer prototype.
  • Evaluation of existing solar drying plants in the "low-tech" area by a literature research
  • Identification of a suitable construction type for the application in Sudan
  • support of a student seminar in design and construction of the solar dryer
 Environment and Natural Resources and Desertification Research Institute (ENDRI)

Energieseminar TU Berlin
AGYA

BMBF

Contact



Philipp Blechinger


Project Manager

Maik Haas


Student Assistant

Das war die Travelling Conference 2019
11. März 2019
open_MODEX: RLI leitet Open-Source-Forschungsprojekt zur Energiesystemanalyse
13. März 2019

solar4food

Projektzeitraum: Februar 2019 – Januar 2020

In diesem Projekt wird untersucht, wie Datteln im Sudan mittels solarthermischer Trocknungsgeräte im Low-Tech Bereich getrocknet werden können.

Die traditionelle Trocknung von Datteln geschieht durch das Auslegen der Früchte unter freiem Himmel mit Hilfe der Sonneneinstrahlung. Dabei entstehen Ernteverluste durch den Befall der Datteln mit Insekten und Fäulnis oder durch Diebstahl durch Tier und Mensch. Weiter wird die Qualität der Datteln durch die direkte Sonneneinstrahlung und Staub beeinträchtigt.

Gemeinsam mit dem sudanesischen Forschungsinstitut für Umwelt, natürliche Ressourcen und Wüstenbildung (ENDRI) untersucht das RLI den Trocknungsprozess von Datteln als Teil der Wertschöpfungskette des Dattelanbaus von kleinen Farmen. Durch die Analyse und Bewertung der einzelnen Arbeitsschritte wird ermittelt, welcher Trocknertyp die Bedürfnisse auf den Farmen am besten erfüllt. Durch die Anwendung eines Solartrockners sollen Verluste vermieden und die Qualität der getrockneten Datteln verbessert werden. Die Analyse erfolgt mittels einer Feldstudie in der Interviews mit den Dattelbäuerinnen und –Bauern geführt werden, und beinhaltet Fragen über die Ernte, Trockung und Vermarktung der Datteln.

Mit den Ergebnissen der Analyse wird der Solartrocknertyp auf die Bedürfnisse kleiner Farmen angepasst. Ziel ist es, einen kostengünstigen Prototyp zu entwerfen, der einfach nachbaubar ist und mit der Verwendung lokaler Ressourcen und einer öffentlich zugänglichen Bauanleitung auf den Farmen hergestellt werden kann.

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Energieseminar der TU Berlin entwerfen Studierende einen Prototyp und sammeln Erfahrungen im Selbstbau. Die gewonnen Erkenntnisse werden in eine Bauanleitung überführt. Das Ergebnis wird schließlich an das ENDRI übergeben, das mithilfe einer Studierendengruppe den Solartrockner vor Ort nachbaut.

In einer Testphase werden die Qualität, die Nährwerte und der Feuchtigkeitsgehalt der Datteln vor, während und nach dem Trocknungsprozess gemessen.

Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem RLI und der ENDRI findet auf der Grundlage des Netzwerks der Arab-German Young Academy of Sciences and Humanities (AGYA) statt, die die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit zwischen jungen arabischen und deutschen Forschenden und Studierenden fördert. Finanziert wird das Projekt im Rahmen des AGYA-Netzwerkes durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Wissenschaft (BMBF).

© Foto: Mona Mok, on Unsplash

In diesem Projekt übernimmt das RLI folgende Aufgaben:

  • Vorbereitung, Zuarbeit und Auswertung einer Feldstudie zum Ernteumfang, zur Trocknung und zur Vermarktung der kultivierten Datteln kleiner Farmen im Norden des Sudans. Die gesammelten Daten unterstützen den Designprozess eines Solartrockner-Prototyps.
  • Bewertung von bestehenden solaren Trocknungsanlagen im „Low-Tech“-Bereich durch eine Literaturrecherche
  • Identifizierung eines geeigneten Bautyps für den Anwendungsfall im Sudan
  • Unterstützung eines Studierendenseminars bei der Konstruktion und beim Bau des Solartrockners
 Environment and Natural Resources and Desertification Research Institute (ENDRI)

Energieseminar TU Berlin
AGYA

BMBF

Kontakt



Philipp Blechinger


Projektleiter

Maik Haas


Studentischer Mitarbeiter