05.12. | Smart Mobility Forum: From Sharing to Caring
5. December 2019
Intelligent networking of electric mobility and power grids – Research project launched
9. December 2019

Wine to Energy

Project period: January 2019 – December 2019

Today, the largest amount of energy demand is fulfilled by fossil-derived energy. This generates tremendous negative effect on the environment, natural resources and health. Anaerobic Digestion (AD) is considered the most promising green approach currently to address two issues: waste management and energy production.

Producing biogas from waste represents an enormous opportunity worldwide to decrease greenhouse gas emissions, environment degradation, waste management, and treatment. With this project, we aim to take our work to a larger scale through a feasibility study with agroindustrial partners in Lebanon and Germany. Lebanese and German members will conduct field visits to wine growers to enable an economic study depicting the cost and benefits of AD from the community’s perspective. At the end of this project, we believe we will have a thesis and research paper highlighting the advantages and limitations of AD for agroindustries and encouraging agricultural communities to adopt it for a sustainable future.

This project has a very broad interdisciplinary approach, bringing together waste management-related skills from several areas to create interaction on many levels:

  • between industry, academia and society
  • between different perspectives (agricultural, economists, biochemists and politicians)
  • between different disciplines and areas of expertise.

© Image: RLI

RLI assumes the following tasks within this research project:

  • Overview of AD technology (Field visit to Beirut (Bekaa valley))
  • Description of techno-economic value chain of AD plants
  • Site assessment (i.e. economic study framework, data collection, data processing)
  • Feedstock assessment
  • Market analysis fo heat and power
  • Economic and financial analysis
  • Field visits (e.g. AD plant and German bioenergy association) and meeting in Germany to discuss intermediate results and application of framework to German wine region.

After completing the research project, the following results are expected from the RLI point of view:

  • The results will increase the availability of information about the use of digesters, which describes the operational costs and environmental benefits of developing a collaborative approach to produce green energy as well as to treat the large quantities of waste produced. Focus is laid on the decentral used of digesters in Lebanese wine yards.
  • The obtained results will outline a plan for implementing feasible collaborative options for using AD to bring long-term energy, environmental and economic benefits to the stakeholders, employees and residents.
Saint Joseph Université de Beyrouth_USJ

Helmholtz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung_UFZ

AGYA

BMBF

RLS

Contact



Philipp Blechinger


Project manager

05.12. | Smart Mobility Forum: Vom Sharing zum Caring
5. Dezember 2019
Intelligente Vernetzung von Elektromobilität und Stromnetzen – Forschungsprojekt gestartet
9. Dezember 2019

Wine to Energy

Projektzeitraum: 01.01.2019 - 31.12.2019

Heute wird der größte Teil des Energiebedarfs durch Energie aus fossilen Quellen gedeckt. Dies hat enorme negative Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt, die natürlichen Ressourcen und die Gesundheit. Die anaerobe Verdauung (AD) gilt als der vielversprechendste grüne Ansatz, der derzeit zwei Probleme angeht: Abfallmanagement und Energieproduktion.

Die Erzeugung von Biogas aus Abfall stellt weltweit eine enorme Chance dar, Treibhausgasemissionen, Umweltzerstörung, Abfallmanagement und -behandlung zu verringern. Mit diesem Projekt wollen wir unsere Arbeit durch eine Machbarkeitsstudie mit agroindustriellen Partnern im Libanon und in Deutschland auf einen größeren Maßstab bringen. Libanesische und deutsche Mitglieder werden Feldbesuche bei Weinbauern durchführen, um eine wirtschaftliche Studie zu ermöglichen, die die Kosten und Vorteile der Alzheimer-Krankheit aus der Perspektive der Gemeinschaft darstellt. Am Ende dieses Projekts werden wir, über eine Dissertation und ein Forschungspapier verfügen, die die Vorteile und Grenzen der Alzheimerkrankheit für die Agroindustrie aufzeigen und die landwirtschaftlichen Gemeinschaften dazu ermutigen, sie für eine nachhaltige Zukunft zu übernehmen.

Dieses Projekt hat einen sehr breiten interdisziplinären Ansatz, der abfallwirtschaftliche Kompetenzen aus mehreren Bereichen zusammenführt und so eine Interaktion auf vielen Ebenen schafft:

  • zwischen Industrie, Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft
  • zwischen verschiedenen Perspektiven (Agrarwissenschaftler, Ökonomen, Biochemiker und Politiker)
  • zwischen verschiedenen Disziplinen und Fachgebieten.

© Bild: RLI

Das RLI übernimmt innerhalb dieses Forschungsprojekts folgende Aufgaben:

  • Überblick über die AD-Technologie (Feldbesuch in Beirut (Bekaa-Tal))
  • Beschreibung der technisch-ökonomischen Wertschöpfungskette von AD-Anlagen
  • Standortbewertung (d.h. wirtschaftlicher Untersuchungsrahmen, Datenerhebung, Datenverarbeitung)
  • Feedstock-Bewertung
  • Marktanalyse für Wärme und Strom
  • Wirtschafts- und Finanzanalyse
  • Feldbesuche (z.B. AD-Anlage und deutscher Bioenergieverband) und Treffen in Deutschland, um Zwischenergebnisse und die Anwendung des Rahmens auf die deutsche Weinregion zu diskutieren.

Nach Abschluss des Forschungsprojekts werden aus Sicht des RLI folgende Ergebnisse erwartet:

  • Die Ergebnisse werden die Verfügbarkeit von Informationen über den Einsatz von Fermentern erhöhen, die die Betriebskosten und den Umweltnutzen der Entwicklung eines kooperativen Ansatzes zur Erzeugung von grüner Energie sowie zur Behandlung der großen Mengen an produziertem Abfall beschreiben. Der Schwerpunkt liegt auf der dezentralen Nutzung von Kochern in libanesischen Weinbergen.
  • Die erzielten Ergebnisse werden einen Plan für die Umsetzung durchführbarer kooperativer Optionen für die Nutzung von AD skizzieren, um den Interessenvertretern, Mitarbeitern und Anwohnern langfristige energetische, ökologische und wirtschaftliche Vorteile zu bringen.
Saint Joseph Université de Beyrouth_USJ

Helmholtz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung_UFZ

AGYA
<
BMBF

RLS
<

Kontakt



Philipp Blechinger


Projektleiter