Jann Launer

M.Sc. Physics (FU Berlin, Universität Hamburg)

+49 (0)30 1208 434 77


Researcher

Info

Jann Launer has been a researcher in the Research Unit Transformation of Energy Systems at RLI since October 2017.

Jann is currently leading the projects UMAS and FlexMex. With UMAS, we ask the question whether the Berlin natural gas storage facility (Berliner Erdgasspeicher, BES), which has been shut down since 2017, can be used as an energy storage for energy from renewable sources in the future. In FlexMex, we compare energy system models developed at nine different institutes to understand better the reasons for differences in scenario results for electricity, heat, and mobility.

Previously, Jann worked in the project oemof_heat which extended the Open Energy System Modeling Framework (oemof) in order to represent the heating sector and its coupling to the rest of the energy system. He was responsible for the planning, implementation and testing of the new components as well as their application in several case studies. In this context there was a close cooperation with the projects open_eGO, open_FREDm, and E-Navi.

Jann studied physics with a minor in geoscience at Universität Hamburg, University of Uppsala and Freie Universität Berlin and completed his master’s degree in 2016. As a research assistant he has been working in the fields of dynamical and complex physical and socio-economical systems using mathematical modeling, simulation, and data analysis at the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research and at the Zuse Institute Berlin.

Jann Launer

M.Sc. Physik (FU Berlin, Universität Hamburg)

+49 (0)30 1208 434 77


Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Info

Jann Launer ist seit Oktober 2017 wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Forschungsfeld Transformation von Energiesystemen am RLI.

Jann leitet am RLI aktuell die Projekte UMAS und FlexMex. Das Projekt UMAS stellt die Frage, ob der seit 2017 stillgelegte Berliner Erdgasspeicher (BES) zukünftig als Speicher für Energie aus erneuerbaren Quellen genutzt werden kann. In FlexMex werden die Energiesystemmodelle neun verschiedener Institute miteinander verglichen, um besser zu verstehen, wie Unterschiede in den berechneten Szenarien für Strom, Wärme und Mobilität zu bewerten sind.

Zuvor arbeitete Jann im Projekt oemof_heat an der Erweiterung des Open Energy System Modeling Framework (oemof), um aufbauend auf dem bestehenden Open Source Framework den Wärmesektor und dessen Kopplung mit dem Gesamtenergiesystem darstellen zu können. Er übernahm dabei die Konzeption, Implementierung und Tests der neuen Modellkomponenten und ihre Anwendung in konkreten Fallstudien. Enger Austausch bestand in diesem Zusammenhang mit den Projekten open_eGO, open_FRED und E-Navi.

Jann studierte an der Universität Hamburg, der Universität Uppsala und der Freien Universität Berlin Physik mit Geowissenschaften im Nebenfach und schloss 2016 mit dem Master ab. Als studentischer Mitarbeiter forschte er zur Dynamik komplexer physikalischer und sozio-ökonomischer Systeme mittels mathematischer Modellierung, Simulation und Datenanalyse am Potsdam Institut für Klimafolgenforschung und am Zuse Institut Berlin.