26.05. | Fridays for Future: Webinar on hydrogen mobility
26. May 2020
UMAS Project starts: An underground energy storage for Berlin
10. June 2020

UMAS: Underground Methanization in Aquifer Storage

The UMAS project is investigating, whether the Berlin Natural Gas Storage Facility, which has been shut down since 2017, could be used as an energy storage for electricity from renewable sources in the future.

The Berlin Natural Gas Storage Facility is located in the district of Charlottenburg, about 800 meters below the earth's surface. It is a porous sandstone layer that can absorb gas and hold it safely – natural gas was stored here until 2017. Using it as a storage for renewable energy instead, works in two steps:

  1. Surplus electricity from renewable energy, which is generated on days with strong winds and strong solar radiation, is converted into hydrogen by electrolysis (power-to-gas).
  2. The hydrogen is put into the underground storage together with CO2 and converted into methane gas by biological methanization.
The methane gas can then be used directly in Berlin's natural gas network – for example for heat or mobility. Compared to the direct use of renewable energy as electricity, this is obviously a detour in which losses occur. Nevertheless, the technology has advantages, because flexibility is needed to balance the fluctuating generation of renewable energy and the energy demand in an energy system. The coupling of the electricity and gas sectors can thus make an important contribution in this respect.

In UMAS, experts from the fields of microbiology, biochemistry, process engineering, geology, economics, and energy system analysis work together to explore the potential of the Berlin Natural Gas Storage Facility for the energy transition. RLI focuses on the integration of the storage facility into the Berlin energy system and on the involvement of local residents.

The two-and-a-half year project, which is funded by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy, will take place exclusively in the laboratory. The results will form the basis for a field test, which will take place in a follow-up project.

Project duration: May 2020 – October 2022

RLI is responsible for the following task in the UMAS project:

  • Analysis of the energy system surrounding the storage facility with renewable and conventional producers and consumers and the grid
  • Simulation of the energy system surrounding the storage facility in a computer model
  • Determination of the potential of the storage facility for emission reduction, system stabilization, and economic operation
  • Involving local residents and engaging their participation through transparency and provision of information
BES

DBI


IÖW
MicroPro GmbH
TU Clausthal


Associated partners:
DVGW e.V.


Uni Regensburg

Bild

Supported by the Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy as part of the 7th Energy Research Programme.


Research at RLI is supported by the Reiner Lemoine Foundation.

Contact



Jann Launer


Project Manager

Lena Haug


Unit Head

Sabine Haas


Researcher

26.05. | Fridays for Future: Webinar zu Wasserstoffmobilität
26. Mai 2020
UMAS geht an den Start: Unterirdischer Energiespeicher für Berlin
10. Juni 2020

UMAS: Untertägige Methanisierung im Aquiferspeicher

Im UMAS-Projekt wird erforscht, ob der seit 2017 stillgelegte Berliner Erdgasspeicher zukünftig als Energiespeicher für Strom aus erneuerbaren Quellen genutzt werden könnte.

Der Berliner Erdgasspeicher liegt im Bezirk Charlottenburg, etwa 800 Meter unter der Erdoberfläche. Es handelt sich um eine poröse Sandsteinschicht, die Gas aufnehmen und sicher festhalten kann – bis 2017 wurde hier Erdgas gespeichert. Die Umnutzung als Speicher für Erneuerbare Energien funktioniert durch zwei Umwandlungsschritte:

  1. Überschüssiger Strom aus Erneuerbaren Energien, wie er etwa an Tagen mit starkem Wind und starker Sonneneinstrahlung vorhanden ist, wird per Elektrolyse in Wasserstoff umgewandelt (Power-to-Gas).
  2. Der Wasserstoff wird gemeinsam mit CO2 in den unterirdischen Speicher eingeleitet und dort per biologischer Methanisierung in Methangas umgewandelt.
Das Methangas kann dann direkt im Berliner Erdgasnetz genutzt werden – etwa für Wärme oder Mobilität. Verglichen mit der direkten Nutzung Erneuerbarer Energie als Strom, bedeutet dies natürlich einen Umweg, bei dem Verluste entstehen. Dennoch hat die Technik Vorteile, denn um in einem Energiesystem die fluktuierende Erzeugung von Erneuerbarer Energie und den Energiebedarf auszugleichen, wird Flexibilität benötigt. Die Kopplung der Sektoren Strom und Gas kann dabei einen wichtigen Beitrag leisten.

In UMAS arbeiten Expertinnen und Experten aus den Fachgebieten Mikrobiologie, Biochemie, Verfahrenstechnik, Geologie, Ökonomie und Energiesystemforschung zusammen, um das Potenzial des Berliner Erdgasspeichern für die Energiewende zu erforschen. Das RLI legt dabei seinen Fokus auf die Integration des Speichers ins Berliner Energiesystem sowie auf die Einbeziehung von Anwohnerinnen und Anwohnern.

Das zweieinhalbjährige vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie geförderte Projekt findet zunächst ausschließlich im Labor statt. Die Ergebnisse bilden die Grundlage für einen Feldversuch, der in einem Nachfolgeprojekt stattfinden wird.

Projektzeitraum: Mai 2020 – Oktober 2022

Das RLI übernimmt im Forschungsprojekt UMAS folgende Aufgaben:

  • Analyse des den Speicher umgebenden Energiesystems mit erneuerbaren und konventionellen, Erzeugern, Verbrauchern und dem Netz
  • Darstellung des den Speichern umgebenden Energiesystems im Computermodell
  • Bestimmung des Potenzials des Speichers zur Emissionsminderung, Systemstabilisierung und für einen wirtschaftlichen Betrieb
  • Einbeziehen der örtlichen Bevölkerung, Beteiligung der Nachbarschaft durch Transparenz und Informationsbereitstellung
BES

DBI


IÖW
MicroPro GmbH
TU Clausthal


Assoziierte Partner:
DVGW e.V.


Uni Regensburg

Bild

Gefördert durch das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie im Rahmen des 7. Energieforschungsprogramms.



Die Forschungsarbeit am RLI wird finanziell durch die Reiner Lemoine Stiftung unterstützt.

Kontakt



Jann Launer


Projektleiter

Lena Haug


Bereichsleiterin

Sabine Haas


Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin