11.-12.12. | Conference: New Energy World
11. December 2018
Kick-off event “Charging infrastructure for electric vehicles – BMWi joint project on the “Clean Air” Program
14. January 2019

06.-12-01. | MENARET-Workshop

January 6th-12th 2019 | Tlemcen and Tunis

Sarah Berendes, researcher in the RLI Research Unit Off-Grid Systems, will participate in a workshop in Tlemcen, Algeria and Tunis, Tunisia, that is part of the MENARET project. The workshop will focus on the development of a concrete project proposal for the Client II funding program, which could be a follow-up project on the MENARET project.

The MENARET project aims to develop solutions for a transformation of the energy system in the MENA region, which means Middle East and North Africa, considering socio-economic and social aspects.

The research will further address the question of how a transformation of the MENA energy system can be connected with the European energy transition and what role climate change has. The MENARET project is chaired by the Microenergy Systems Research Group of TU Berlin.

In the workshop, there will be discussions with local researchers, representatives of companies, and decision-makers, to create a comprehensive picture of the current state of energy supply and water resource management in Tunisia and Algeria. The discussions and selected field trips will shed light on the opportunities and challenges of a transformation of the energy system.

Sarah will contribute concrete suggestions and ideas for RLI’s project design and identify fields in which RLI can contribute with its expertise for the potential MENARET follow-up project Client II.

© Image: habib kaki, Tlemcen – تلمسان – panoramio, cropped by RLI, CC BY 3.0

11.-12.12. | Konferenz: New Energy World
11. Dezember 2018
Auftaktveranstaltung „Ladeinfrastruktur für Elektrofahrzeuge – BMWi-Verbundvorhaben zum Sofortprogramm Saubere Luft“
14. Januar 2019

06.-12.01. | MENARET-Workshop

6.-12. Januar 2019 | Tlemcen und Tunis

Sarah Berendes, wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am RLI-Forschungsbereich Off-Grid-Systems, wird im Rahmen des Projektes MENARET an einem sechstägigen Workshop in Tlemcen,  Algerien und Tunis, Tunesien teilnehmen. In dem Workshop wird es um die Erarbeitung eines konkreten Projektantrags für das Förderprogramm Client II gehen, das sich an das MENARET-Projekt anschließen könnte.

In dem MENARET-Projekt geht es darum, Lösungsansätze für eine Umgestaltung des Energiesystems in der MENA-Region, also des Nahen Ostens und Nordafrikas, zu entwickeln –  unter der Berücksichtigung des Einflusses einer Transformation auf sozio-ökonomischer und gesellschaftlicher Ebene.

Ein weiterer Forschungsaspekt geht der Frage nach, wie eine Transformation des Energiesystems der MENA-Region mit der europäischen Energiewende gekoppelt werden kann und welche Rolle der Klimawandel spielt. Geleitet wird das MENARET-Projekt vom Forschungsgruppe Mikroenergiesysteme der TU Berlin.

In dem Workshop wird es Diskussionen mit Vertreterinnen und Vertretern aus Forschung, Wirtschaft und Politik aus den Regionen geben, um ein umfassendes Bild über die aktuelle Situation der Energieversorgung und des Wassermanagements  in Tunesien und Algerien zu erstellen. Beleuchtet werden sollen durch die Gespräche und ausgewählte Exkursionen, was die Möglichkeiten und Herausforderungen einer Umgestaltung des Energiesystems sind.

Sarah wird für das RLI konkrete Vorschläge und Ideen für die Projektgestaltung  einbringen und Felder identifizieren, in die das RLI mit seiner Expertise für das potenzielle MENARET-Nachfolgeprojekt Client II einen Beitrag leisten kann.

© Foto: habib kaki, Tlemcen – تلمسان – panoramio, cropped by RLI, CC BY 3.0