Summer School on Modelling Tools for Sustainable Development
27. June 2018
Successful Symposium for German-Philippine Research Cooperation
11. July 2018

RLI is a partner in the GRECO Poject on Open Science

July 3rd 2018 – The European research project Fostering a Next GeneRation of European Photovoltaic SoCiety through Open Science (GRECO) has started with a kick-off meeting in Madrid. Berit Müller, Head of the RLI Research Field Transformation von Energiesystemen represented the RLI. A total of eleven organizations, institutes, and universities from all over Europe work together on the task of bringing Open Science approaches into photovoltaic research in order to develop socially sustainable photovoltaic solutions for society. The project will run for three years, is coordinated by the Universidad Politécnica de Madrid (UPM), and funded by the European Union’s Horizon 2020 program.

The project is guides by the principles of Responsible Research and Innovation (RRI). This includes Open Innovation, Citizen Science, Mobilization, and Mutual Learning (MML) approaches. Among other things, these methods should make research processes more accessible. In concrete terms, GRECO aims to develop solutions for six technical objectives using RRI methods, including a model for the aging of photovoltaics, a repair process for old solar modules, and a photovoltaic-based irrigation system. In addition, the project will work with third parties to develop a Citizen Science Initiative that will allow people from around the world to participate in photovoltaic studies and research. In addition, a handbook for researchers will be developed to make RRI concepts and Open Science approaches available for future projects.

Berit Müller presents other RLI Open Science projects at the GRECO kick-off | © Image: RLI

“We believe that the energy transition should happen under the creative and financial participation of all citizens,” explains Berit Müller. “At RLI, wherever possible, we use open data and methods, and have already been able to show in various research projects, such as oemof or open_ego, that participatory approaches in the field of energy system research lead to good results. I am looking forward to working with the partner institutions at European level.”

In GRECO, RLI will analyze the impact of different photovoltaic technologies (building-integrated micro-CPV versus flat PV modules) in terms of costs and emissions in local and European energy supply scenarios, as well as design and test an Open-Peer Review Process for the scientific publications of the project.

GRECO is funded by the European Union’s Horizon 2020 program under grant contract number 787289.

© Header image: Courtesy of the European Science Communication Institute (ESCI)

Summer School on Modelling Tools for Sustainable Development
27. Juni 2018
Symposium für Deutsch-Philippinische Zusammenarbeit
6. Juli 2018

RLI ist Partner im GRECO-Projekt zu Open Science

3. Juli 2018 – Das europäischen Forschungsprojekt Fostering a Next GeneRation of European Photovoltaic SoCiety through Open Science (GRECO) ist mit einem Kick-Off-Treffen in Madrid gestartet. Berit Müller, RLI-Forschungsfeldleiterin Transformation von Energiesystemen vertrat das RLI. Insgesamt elf Organisationen, Institute und Universitäten aus ganz Europa arbeiten gemeinsam an der Aufgabe, Open-Science-Ansätze in die Photovoltaikforschung einzubringen, sodass sozial nachhaltige Photovoltaiklösungen für die Gesellschaft entwickelt werden. Das Projekt ist auf drei Jahre ausgelegt, wird von der Universidad Politécnica de Madrid (UPM) koordiniert und durch das Horizon 2020 Programm der Europäischen Union gefördert.

Das Projekt steht im Zeichen von „Responsible Research and Innovation“ (RRI). Dies beinhaltet Ansätze aus den Bereichen Open Innovation, Citizen Science, Mobilisierung und gegenseitiges Lernen (MML). Diese Methoden sollen unter anderem Forschungsprozesse zugänglicher machen. Ganz konkret sollen in GRECO Lösungen für sechs technische Ziele mithilfe von RRI-Methoden entwickelt werden – darunter ein Modell für die Alterung von Photovoltaik, ein Reparaturprozess für alte Solarmodule sowie ein Bewässerungssystem auf Basis von Photovoltaik. Darüber hinaus soll im Projekt gemeinsam mit Dritten eine Citizen Science Initiative entwickelt werden, die es Menschen aus der ganzen Welt ermöglicht, an Studien und Untersuchungen zum Thema Photovoltaik teilzunehmen. Zusätzlich wird ein Handbuch für Forschende erstellt, das RRI-Konzepte und Open-Science-Ansätze für zukünftige Projekte zugänglich machen soll.

Berit Müller zeigt beim GRECO-Kick-Off-Treffen Open-Science-Projekte des RLI | © Foto: RLI

„Wir glauben, dass die Energiewende unter gestalterischer und finanzieller Beteiligung aller Bürgerinnen und Bürger stattfinden sollte“, erklärt Berit Müller. „Am RLI nutzen wir wo immer möglich offene Daten und Methoden und konnten bereits in verschiedenen Forschungsprojekten, wie etwa oemof oder open_ego, zeigen, dass partizipative Ansätze im Bereich Energiesystemforschung zu guten Ergebnissen führen. Ich freue mich sehr auf die Zusammenarbeit mit den Partnerinstitutionen auf europäischer Ebene.“

Das RLI übernimmt in GRECO unter anderem die Analyse der Auswirkungen verschiedener Photovoltaiktechnologien (gebäudeintegrierte Micro-CPV im Vergleich zu flachen PV-Modulen) im Hinblick auf Kosten und Emissionen in Energieversorgungsszenarien auf lokaler und europäischer Ebene sowie die  Konzeption und Test eines Open-Peer-Review-Prozesses für die wissenschaftlichen Publikationen des Projekts.

GRECO wird durch das das Horizon 2020 Programm der Europäischen Union unter der Fördervertragsnummer 787289 gefördert.

© Titelbild: Mit freundlicher Genehmigung des European Science Communication Institute (ESCI)