16.10. | oemof_heat consortium meeting
16. October 2018
2nd symposium of the Competence Centre E-Mobility of the State of Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania
17. October 2018

Sector coupling of energy and transport in development cooperation

Project duration: September - November 2018

In the project, the RLI develops a concept for the sector coupling of energy and transport in development cooperation on behalf of the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) (German Corporation for International Cooperation).

One of GIZ's objectives is to advise partner countries on transport and energy and to support them in achieving climate and development goals. The transport sector has a special role to play here, as it contributes to climate change through emissions on the one hand, with mobility being one of the basic prerequisites for social and economic development on the other hand. A coupling of the energy and transport sectors should therefore contribute to the development of concepts, methods, and instruments for sustainable mobility worldwide.

For the GIZ, RLI summarizes the current state of research, defines the basic concepts and challenges, and makes concrete recommendations for priority fields of action and, if applicable, measures. One of the main concerns will be to extend the perception of the topic of "sector coupling energy and transport" beyond the mere conversion to e-mobility. Other options include traffic avoidance, shifting to other transport modes, other energy sources, or increasing efficiency and substitution. On the basis of this concept, GIZ will build up its work in the partner countries in the field of sustainable mobility.

© Image: CC0 Creative Commons

RLI assumes the following tasks in this project:


  • Development of a concept paper "Sector coupling energy and transport in development cooperation”
  • Issuing recommendations for action
  • Hosting an expert discussion in Berlin
Bild

Contact



Philipp Blechinger


Project Manager

Kathrin Goldammer


Managing Director

Oliver Arnhold


Unit Head

Catherina Cader


Researcher

Zakia Soomauroo


PhD candidate

Laura Wienpahl


Researcher

Norman Pieniak


Team Head

oemof_heat-Konsortialtreffen
16. Oktober 2018
2. Fachtagung Kompetenzzentrum E-Mobilität M-V
17. Oktober 2018

Sektorkopplung Energie und Verkehr in der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit

Im Projekt erstellte das RLI ein Konzept für die Sektorkopplung von Energie und Verkehr in der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit. Dies geschah im Auftrag der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ).

Ein Ziel der GIZ war es, Partnerländer im Bereich Verkehr und Energie zu beraten und sie in der Erreichung von Klima- und Entwicklungszielen zu unterstützen. Dem Verkehrssektor kam hierbei eine besondere Stellung zu, da er einerseits durch Emissionen zum Klimawandel beiträgt, andererseits Mobilität eine der Grundvorrausetzungen für soziale und ökonomische Entwicklung ist. Eine Kopplung der Sektoren Energie und Verkehr sollte daher zur Entwicklung von Konzepten, Methoden und Instrumenten für eine nachhaltige Mobilität weltweit beitragen.

Für die GIZ fasste das RLI den aktuellen Stand der Forschung zusammen, definierte die grundlegenden Begriffe und Herausforderungen und gab konkrete Empfehlungen für Schwerpunkthandlungsfelder und ggf. Maßnahmen ab. Ein Hauptanliegen dabei war es, die Wahrnehmung des Themas „Sektorkopplung Energie und Verkehr“ über die reine Umstellung auf Elektromobilität hinaus zu erweitern. Weitere Optionen waren etwa Verkehrsvermeidung, Verlagerung auf andere Verkehrsmodi, andere Energieträger oder Effizienzsteigerung und Substitution. Die GIZ hat auf Basis dieses Konzepts ihre Arbeit in den Partnerländern im Bereich nachhaltige Mobilität aufgebaut.

Projektzeitraum: September – November 2018

© Bild: CC0 Creative Commons

Das RLI übernimmt in diesem Projekt folgende Aufgaben:

  • Erstellung eines Konzeptpapiers „Sektorkopplung Energie und Verkehr in der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit“
  • Entwicklung von Handlungsempfehlungen
  • Durchführung eines Fachgesprächs in Berlin
Bild

Kontakt



Philipp Blechinger


Projektleiter

Kathrin Goldammer


Geschäftsführerin

Oliver Arnhold


Bereichsleiter

Catherina Cader


Stv. Bereichsleiterin

Zakia Soomauroo


Doktorandin

Laura Wienpahl


Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

Norman Pieniak


Stv. Bereichsleiter