Travelling Conferences 2
7. February 2019
Workshop for the funding module WELMO
14. February 2019

E-MetroBus

Electrification of MetroBus-lines in Berlin's public transport with quick charging infrastructure

Project duration: January 2019 - January 2023

In the RLI E-MetroBus project, 15 articulated buses operated by the Berlin public transport operator Berliner Verkehrsbetriebe (BVG) will be electrified and equipped so that they can be charged particularly quickly. Together with the project partners BVG and TU Berlin, RLI is working on the challenges involved in converting the buses of highly frequented lines. On the one hand, the time the buses have available for charging has to be flexible, as it can vary greatly due to traffic delays and road closures. On the other hand, the rapid charging technology is a burden on the local electricity grid – especially when considering the up to 1400 buses of the entire BVG bus fleet for the study.

Among other aspects, the project will test adjustments to the planning of the route each individual bus has to travel per day, as well as the development of a fast-charging infrastructure with an output of more than 300 kilowatts.

RLI is initially developing various scenarios for achieving a local, grid-connected supply of charging stations. The energy systems will be modeled, simulated, and their topology will be optimized under economic and ecological aspects. In order to relieve the load on the local power grid, the use of renewable energy systems and their integration into intelligent grids, which regulate consumers and producers in the grid according to their energy requirements, will be examined in detail.

© Image: RLI

RLI assumes the following tasks within this research project:

  • Modeling, simulation, and optimization of microgrid for the supply of charging points for electrified buses at bus stops and depots
  • Development of operator concepts for decentralized energy plants
  • Review of the transferability of concepts to other transport companies
  • Derivation of synergies with other fleet operators
  • Sensitivity and robustness analysis of the model
  • Validation of simulation results
  • Development of an interactive web application to present the project results publicly
TU Berlin

BVG
Research and Development project, funded by the e-mobility funding directive of the

BMVI

Coordinated by:

NOW GmbH

and

Projektträger Jülich

RLS

Contact



Norman Pieniak


Project Manager

Alexander Windt


Researcher

Tim Röpcke


Researcher

Daniel Busch


Intern

Travelling Conferences 2
7. Februar 2019
Workshop zum Fördermodul Wirtschaftsnahe Elektromobilität
14. Februar 2019

E-MetroBus

Elektrifizierung von MetroBus-Linien im Berliner ÖPNV mit Schnellladeinfrastruktur

Projektzeitraum: Januar 2019 – Januar 2023

Im RLI-Projekt E-MetroBus werden 15 Gelenkbusse der Berliner Verkehrsbetriebe (BVG) elektrifiziert und so ausgerüstet, dass sie besonders schnell geladen werden können. Zusammen mit den Projektpartnern BVG und der TU Berlin arbeitet das RLI an den Herausforderungen, die eine Umrüstung der Busse auf hochfrequentierten Linien mit sich bringen. Einerseits muss die Zeit, die die Busse zum Laden zur Verfügung haben, flexibel gestaltet werden, da sie durch verkehrsbedingte Verspätungen und Sperrungen stark variieren kann. Andererseits belastet die dafür infrage kommende Schnellladetechnologie das lokale Stromnetz – dies wird insbesondere dann deutlich, wenn alle 1400 Busse der BVG-Flotte in die Untersuchung mit einbezogen werden.

Im Projekt werden unter anderem Anpassungen bei der Planung der Umläufe, also der Strecke, die jeder einzelne Bus pro Tag fahren muss, sowie der Aufbau von Schnellladeinfrastruktur mit einer Leistung größer als 300 Kilowatt erprobt.

Das RLI entwickelt zunächst unterschiedliche Szenarien, wie eine lokale, netzdienliche Versorgung der Ladestationen erreicht werden kann. Dabei werden die Energiesysteme modelliert, simuliert und ihre Topologie anschließend unter ökonomischen und ökologischen Aspekten optimiert. Um das lokale Stromnetz zu entlasten, soll vor allem auch der Einsatz von Erneuerbare-Energie-Anlagen und die Einbindung in intelligente Netze, die je nach Energiebedarf Verbrauch und Erzeugung im Netz regulieren, im Detail betrachtet werden.

© Bild: RLI

In diesem Projekt übernimmt das RLI folgende Aufgaben:

  • Modellierung, Simulation und Optimierung von Microgrids zur Versorgung von Ladestationen für Elektrobusse, an Haltestellen und Depots
  • Entwicklung von Betriebskonzepten der dezentralen Energieanlagen
  • Überprüfung der Übertragbarkeit der Konzepte auf andere Verkehrsbetriebe
  • Ableitung von Synergien mit anderen Flottenbetreibern
  • Sensitivitäts- und Robustheitsanalyse des Modells
  • Validierung der Simulationsergebnisse
  • Entwicklung einer interaktiven Web-Applikation zur Darstellung der Projektergebnisse in der Öffentlichkeit
TU Berlin

BVG
Forschungs- und Entwicklungsvorhaben im Rahmen der Förderrichtlinie Elektromobilität des

BMVI

Koordiniert durch:

NOW GmbH

und

Projektträger Jülich

RLS

Kontakt



Norman Pieniak


Projektleiter

Alexander Windt


Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Tim Röpcke


Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Daniel Busch


Praktikant