WindNODE – Showcase Intelligent Energy in Northeastern Germany
12. January 2017
WindNODE and ENavi start
17. January 2017

Kopernikus Project ENavi

In the Kopernikus project ENavi, license-free, publicly available simulation tools were developed and used, with the help of which the regional energy system transformation with its individual sectors electricity, heat and mobility can be designed in a participatory manner.

For several years, there has been a trend towards more transparency in energy system simulation and towards opening up simulations for sharing. The Kopernikus project ENavi also aimed at more transparency and should serve the "stakeholder empowerment". The interactive web tools developed in this project are therefore called StEmp tools (=stakeholder empowerment tools). In this way, local actors in particular should be enabled to better understand measures and effects and thus to let them participate (pro)actively in the dialog and develop options for action themselves. Compared to previously existing alternatives, the web tools developed in ENavi can be used to present on-site consumption and the provision of energy in a more understandable way.

Transdisciplinary solutions for supply security

In concrete terms, this means that the two web tools developed in this project should help to assess the effects and side effects of economic or political measures in advance. This should enable the energy system to guarantee security of supply, economic efficiency, and environmental and climate compatibility. In the research project, transdisciplinary solutions were developed for this purpose and then tested under real conditions in model regions. In this way, the web tools can be used regionally as a basis for discussion among the various local actors.

Participatory involvement of local actors

During the development of the web tools within the Kopernikus project ENavi, there was a close exchange with the 64 partners of the ENavi association during the whole project period. After the development of the theoretical basis, a needs analysis and the creation of two concepts for two different tools, they were developed together with the local partners. Feedback from local stakeholders during workshops enabled the tools to be further developed and adapted precisely to their needs.

Technological and economic solutions for the transformation of the energy system

ENavi was one of four projects funded by the Kopernikus initiative of the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). Over a total period of ten years, organizations from science, industry and civil society worked together in these projects to develop technological and economic solutions for restructuring the energy system.

Project duration: 15.10.2016 - 14.10.2019

The Kopernikus Projects ENavi involved 64 partners from industry, research, and society who work together on different parts of the project. Cooperation with other entities in the RLI subproject is described in the final report.



© Photo: TAFE SA TONSLEY, Licence CC BY 2.0 , cropped

RLI was responsible for the following tasks within the project:

  • Developing public-domain simulation tools for engaging different parties involved in the process (Stakeholder Empowerment Tools*)
    • Compiling the theoretic foundation
    • Needs assessment in dialog with the involved parties
      • Analysis of strengths and weaknesses of existing tools
    • Developing example tools
    • Tests and assessments
      • Collaboration with “Reality Labs”
    *Stakeholder Empowerment (StEmp) Tools are professional computation programs that support different stakeholder groups of the energy transition on a comprehensive basis. As transdisciplinary dialog is a large part of the Kopernikus Projects, StEmp tools allow to discuss complex technical backgrounds on a high level with different parties.

The Kopernikus Projects ENavi involved 64 partners from industry, research, and society who work together on different parts of the project. Cooperation with other entities in the RLI subproject is described in the final report.

ENavi was one of four projects within the funding initiative “Kopernikus“ by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF).

 German Federal Ministry of Education and Research

Represented by:

Projektträger Jülich


Research at RLI was supported by the Reiner Lemoine Foundation.

These are the results of the research project:

  • Design and implementation of two tools for the two model regions:
    • Development of a StEmp-Tools to help find cost-effective and environmentally friendly heating options for homes and neighborhoods for the Northwest Mecklenburg region - the tool is publicly available, extensively documented, and can still be used
    • Development of a StEmp-Tools to calculate energy scenarios for the Anhalt-Bitterfeld-Wittenberg region and compare them to the status quo, and to illustrate land uses and conflicts in the region - the tool is publicly available, extensively documented, and can continue to be used
  • StEmp tools can be used as a discussion tool for various local actors, achieving their greatest impact when used at a time when there is still real freedom of decision and design
  • Detailed results of this project have been written down in a master's thesis, papers and the final report


  • Final Report (in German)

Contact



Mascha Richter


Project manager

Jonathan Amme


Researcher

Hendrik Huyskens


Researcher

WindNODE – Schaufenster für Intelligente Energie in Nordostdeutschland
12. Januar 2017
Startschuss für WindNODE und ENavi
17. Januar 2017

Kopernikus-Projekt ENavi

Im Kopernikus-Projekt ENavi wurden lizenzfreie, öffentlich verfügbare Simulationswerkzeuge entwickelt und eingesetzt, mit deren Hilfe die regionale Energiesystemwende mit ihren einzelnen Sektoren Strom, Wärme und Mobilität partizipativ gestaltet werden kann.

Seit einigen Jahren gibt es einen Trend zu mehr Transparenz in der Energiesystemsimulation und hin zur Öffnung der Simulationen für eine gemeinsame Nutzung. Auch das Kopernikus-Projekt ENavi zielte auf mehr Transparenz ab und sollte dem „Stakeholder-Empowerment“ dienen. Die darin entwickelten interaktiven Web-Tools werden daher StEmp-Tools (=Stakeholder-Empowerment-Tools) genannt. So sollten insbesondere lokale Akteur*innen befähigt werden, Maßnahmen und Wirkungen besser zu verstehen und sie damit (pro)aktiv am Dialog teilnehmen zu lassen und selber Handlungsoptionen zu entwickeln. Im Vergleich zu bereits zuvor bestehenden Alternativen, lassen sich mit den in ENavi entwickelten Web-Tools Vor-Ort-Verbrauch und die Bereitstellung von Energie verständlicher darstellen.

Transdisziplinäre Lösungen für Versorgungssicherheit

Konkret bedeutet das, dass die beiden Web-Tools, die im Rahmen dieses Projekts entwickelt worden sind, helfen sollen, die Wirkungen und Nebenwirkungen von wirtschaftlichen oder politischen Maßnahmen im Voraus abzuschätzen. Dadurch soll das Energiesystem Versorgungssicherheit, Wirtschaftlichkeit sowie Umwelt- und Klimaverträglichkeit garantieren können. Im Forschungsprojekt wurden dafür transdisziplinäre Lösungen erarbeitet und diese dann unter Realbedingungen in Modellregionen überprüft. So können die Web-Tools als Diskussionsgrundlage für die verschiedenen lokalen Akteure regional genutzt werden.

Partizipative Beteiligung lokaler Akteure

Bei der Entwicklung der Web-Tools im Rahmen des Kopernikus-Projekt-ENavi wurde sich im gesamten Projektzeitraum eng mit den insgesamt 64 Partner*innen des ENavi-Verbands ausgetauscht. Nach Erarbeitung der theoretischen Grundlage, einer Bedarfsanalyse und der Erstellung zweier Konzepte für zwei verschiedene Web-Tools, wurden diese im Anschluss gemeinsam mit den Partner*innen vor Ort entwickelt. Durch Feedback der lokalen Akteur*innen im Rahmen von Workshops, konnten die Tools weiterentwickelt und genau auf die Bedürfnisse angepasst werden.

Technologische und wirtschaftliche Lösungen für den Umbau des Energiesystems

ENavi war eins von vier Projekten der Förderinitiative Kopernikus des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF). In diesen Projekten wurden über einen Zeitraum von insgesamt zehn Jahren gemeinsam von Organisationen aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft technologische und wirtschaftliche Lösungen für den Umbau des Energiesystems entwickelt.

Projektzeitraum: 15.10.2016 - 14.10.2019

Im Kopernikus-Projekt ENavi haben insgesamt 64 Partner aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft zusammen gearbeitet. Die Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Stellen im Teilvorhaben des RLI ist im Abschlussbericht hierzu beschrieben.



© Foto: TAFE SA TONSLEY, Licence CC BY 2.0 , cropped

Das RLI hat im Forschungsprojekt folgende Aufgaben übernommen:


  • Entwicklung von lizenzfreien, öffentlich verfügbaren Simulationswerkzeugen für die Beteiligung von Akteurinnen und Akteuren (Stakeholder-Empowerment-Tools*)
    • Erarbeitung der theoretischen Grundlagen
    • Bedarfsanalyse im Dialog mit den Beteiligten
      • Stärken-/Schwächen-Analyse bereits bestehender Tools aus ähnlichen Anwendungsgebieten
    • Entwicklung von Beispieltools
    • Durchführung und Auswertung von Forschungstestläufen
      • Zusammenarbeit mit Reallaboren

    *Stakeholder-Empowerment (StEmp) -Tools sind fachliche Berechnungsprogramme, die verschiedenen Akteure auf verständlicher Basis unterstützen. Da der transdisziplinäre Diskurs ein großer Bestandteil der Kopernikus-Projekte ist, ermöglichen StEmp-Tools Fragestellungen mit technisch komplexem Hintergrund auf einem fundierten Niveau mit verschiedenen Stakeholdern zu diskutieren.

Im Kopernikus-Projekt ENavi haben insgesamt 64 Partner aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft zusammen gearbeitet. Die Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Stellen im Teilvorhaben des RLI ist im Abschlussbericht hierzu beschrieben.

ENavi war eins von vier Projekten der Förderinitiative Kopernikus des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF).

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Vertreten durch:

Projektträger Jülich


Die Forschungsarbeit am RLI wurde finanziell durch die Reiner Lemoine Stiftung unterstützt.

Dies sind die Ergebnisse des Forschungsprojekts:


  • Konzeption und Umsetzung zweier Tools für die zwei Modellregionen:
    • Entwicklung eines StEmp-Tools als Hilfe zum Finden von kostengünstigen und umweltfreundlichen Heizungsoptionen für Haushalte und Viertel für die Region Nordwestmecklenburg – das Tool ist öffentlich verfügbar, umfangreich dokumentiert und kann weiterhin genutzt werden
    • Entwicklung eines StEmp-Tools zur Berechnung von Energieszenarien für die Region Anhalt-Bitterfeld-Wittenberg und deren Vergleich mit dem Status Quo sowie der Verbildlichung von Flächennutzungen und -konflikten in der Region – das Tool ist öffentlich verfügbar, umfangreich dokumentiert und kann weiterhin genutzt werden
  • StEmp-Tools können als Diskussionsgrundlage für verschiedene lokale Akteur*innen genutzt werden, wobei sie ihre größte Wirkung erzielen, wenn sie zu einem Zeitpunkt eingesetzt werden, zu dem es noch reale Entscheidungs- und Gestaltungsfreiheit gibt
  • Detailliert sind die Erkenntnisse, die im Rahmen dieses Projekts gewonnen wurden schriftlich in einer Masterarbeit, Papern und dem Abschlussbericht festgehalten worden


  • Abschlussbericht

Kontakt



Mascha Richter


Projektleiterin

Jonathan Amme


Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Hendrik Huyskens


Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter