Kathrin Goldammer Energy Transition expert at KAS Conference in Uruguay
6. October 2016
The Energy Nexus Group – an interdisciplinary research agenda (Cader et al. 2016)
7. October 2016

REEEM – Role of technologies in an energy efficient economy

Model-based analysis policy measures and transformation pathways to a sustainable energy system

How can the European energy transition be supported through better knowledge transfer?

In order to prepare the transition towards a sustainable energy system, powered by renewable sources, there are many policies, measures, and strategies. But which of these actually make sense? Which have the greatest potential to succeed? Where can members of the European Union learn from each other? The REEEM project aims at giving a comprehensive overview of all energy strategies as well as creating a broad understanding of their system-wide effects. Finally, the measures will be assessed according to their sustainability, efficiency, energy security, and reliability and their effects from generation to consumption will be estimated.

The project will address four main objectives:

  1. develop an integrated assessment framework: A suit of integrated tools and methods were developed and applied within a robust and transparent analytical framework. Both individual actors and the entire system as a whole were considered. This framework provided a test bed to enable detailed assessments of the implications of technology transitions on a region or country (e.g., through case studies) as well as on innovations in individual technologies.
  2. define pathways towards a low-carbon society and assess their potential implications: A definition of pathways towards a low-carbon energy society based on the Strategic Technology Plan (SET-Plan) and its Integrated Roadmap was formulated. Based on this, the environmental, economic and social impacts of these possible solutions were assessed and recommendations were derived. Various aspects were considered, such as the impact of the time horizon of political decisions, uncertainty and sensitivity of key assumptions, the robustness of results, and the resilience of the derived energy system.
  3. bridge the science-policy gap through a clear communication using decision support tools: Policy makers were enabled to understand the implications of these pathways and to derive supportive strategies. The knowledge on the implications of different technology measures was processed and adjusted to the needs of decision makers involved in policy making and energy strategy formulation. In addition, a range of dissemination materials and decision support tools were provided to raise awareness and increase the participation in the energy policy debate.
  4. ensure transparency in the process: Enable others to challenge assumptions by ensuring all model development will be open source, by publishing data sets developed within this project and by providing thorough and clear documentation of the work developed within REEEM. Develop educational material such as e-learning tools for this purpose The model developments and the data sets developed within this project were made available on the open energy platform.


To the REEEM-Website

Project duration 01.02.2016 - 31.07.2019



© Photo: REEEM

Reiner Lemoine Institute is responsible for the following REEEM tasks:

  • Developing a data base concept for open data
  • Supporting the development of a data base and integrating the different models
  • Integrating data of energy system models into the data base concept
  • Involving stakeholders
    • Organizing stakeholder conferences
    • Creating a platform for stakeholder communication
  • Ensuring transparency and reproducibility
EU

This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 691739.

Disclaimer: The sole responsibility for the content of this material lies with the authors. It does not necessarily represent the views of the European Union, and neither EASME nor the European Commission are responsible for any use of this material.


Research at RLI is supported by the Reiner Lemoine Foundation.

After finishing the REEEM research project, the following results can be noted from RLI’s point of view:

  • Multidimensional impacts of the transition to a low carbon EU energy system
  • Broader engagement is imperative for deep decarbonisation
  • The EU low-carbon transition is linked to non-EU drivers
  • Among the technology trends, sectoral integration, energy efficiency and electrification of transportation consistently confirmed as potential enablers of the decarbonisation


All results in detail as well as data and publications from the REEEM project are available here:

Contact persons



Ludwig Hülk


Project Manager

Mascha Richter


Head of Unit

Kathrin Goldammer Energiewendeexpertin bei KAS-Konferenz in Uruguay
6. Oktober 2016
The Energy Nexus Group – an interdisciplinary research agenda (Cader et al. 2016)
7. Oktober 2016

REEEM – Role of technologies in an energy efficient economy

Modellbasierte Analyse von politischen Maßnahmen und Transformationspfaden für ein nachhaltiges Energiesystem

Wie kann die europäische Energiewende durch einen besseren Wissenstransfer unterstützt werden?

Um die Energiewende europaweit voranzubringen, gibt es eine Vielzahl verschiedener politischer Maßnahmen und Umsetzungsstrategien. Doch welche sind wirklich sinnvoll und haben Aussicht auf den größten Erfolg? Wo können die Mitglieder der Europäischen Union voneinander lernen? Das Projekt REEEM hatte das Ziel, einen Überblick über die verschiedenen Energiestrategien zu geben sowie ein umfassendes Verständnis über deren systemweiten Auswirkungen zu schaffen. Schließlich wurden die Maßnahmen anhand ihrer Nachhaltigkeit, Effizienz, Sicherheit und Zuverlässigkeit bewertet und ihre Auswirkungen von der Erzeugung bis zum Verbrauch eingeschätzt.

Zur Umsetzung wurden vier Hauptziele adressiert:

  1. Die Entwicklung eines integrierten Bewertungsrahmens: Eine Reihe von integrierten Werkzeugen und Methoden wurden innerhalb eines aussagekräftigen und transparenten analytischen Rahmens entwickelt und angewandt. Sowohl einzelne Akteur*innen, als auch das gesamte System wurden dabei berücksichtigt. Dadurch sollte ein Versuchsfeld ausgemacht werden, um detaillierte Bewertungen der Auswirkungen von Technologieübergängen auf eine Region oder ein Land (z.B. durch Fallstudien) sowie auf Innovationen bei einzelnen Technologien zu ermöglichen.
  2. Die Definition von möglichen Entwicklungspfaden hin zu einer kohlenstoffarmen Gesellschaft und die Beurteilung deren Auswirkungen: Mögliche Handlungsoptionen zu einer kohlenstoffarmen Energiegesellschaft auf der Grundlage des Strategieplans für Energietechnologie (SET-Plans) und seiner Integrierten Roadmap wurden definiert. Basierend darauf, wurden die Auswirkungen dieser Lösungsansätze auf Umwelt, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft bewertet und Empfehlungen abgeleitet. Dies geschah unter Berücksichtigung verschiedener Aspekte, wie dem Einfluss eines begrenzten Zeithorizonts politischer Entscheidungen, der Unsicherheit und Sensibilität der Hauptannahmen, der Aussagekraft der Ergebnisse und der Belastbarkeit des abgeleiteten Energiesystems.
  3. Das Überbrücken der Lücke zwischen Wissenschaft und Politik durch klare Kommunikation und verständliche Tools: Politische Entscheidungsträger*innen wurden befähigt, die Auswirkungen der verschiedenen Handlungsoptionen zu verstehen und unterstützende Strategien abzuleiten. Das Wissen über die Implikationen verschiedener technologischer Maßnahmen wurde verständlich aufbereitet, angepasst an die Bedürfnisse von Entscheidungsträger*innen, die an der Politikgestaltung und der Formulierung von Energiestrategien beteiligt waren. Zusätzlich wurde eine Reihe von Verbreitungsmaterialien und Entscheidungshilfen bereitgestellt, um das Bewusstsein zu schärfen und die Beteiligung an der energiepolitischen Debatte zu erhöhen.
  4. Durchgängige und umfassende Transparenz im gesamten Prozess: Die Modellentwicklungen und die im Rahmen dieses Projekts entwickelten Datensätze wurden auf der Open Energy Plattform zur Verfügung gestellt.


Weitere Informationen zum Projekt finden Sie auf der REEEM-Webseite

Projektzeitraum 01.02.2016 - 31.07.2019



© Foto: REEEM

Das RLI übernahm in REEEM folgende Aufgaben:

  • Entwicklung eines Datenbankkonzeptes für offene Daten
  • Unterstützung beim Aufbau der Datenbank und Verknüpfung der verschiedenen Modelle
  • Integration der Daten der Energiesystemmodelle in das Datenbankkonzept
  • Einbeziehung von Stakeholdern
    • Organisation von Konferenzen für Akteurinnen und Akteure
    • Erarbeitung einer Kommunikationsplattform für Akteurinnen und Akteure
  • Gewährleistung der Transparenz und Reproduzierbarkeit
EU

This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 691739.

Disclaimer: The sole responsibility for the content of this material lies with the authors. It does not necessarily represent the views of the European Union, and neither EASME nor the European Commission are responsible for any use of this material.


Die Forschungsarbeit am RLI wird finanziell durch die Reiner Lemoine Stiftung unterstützt.

Nach Abschluss des REEEM-Forschungsprojekts lassen sich aus RLI-Sicht folgende Ergebnisse festhalten:

  • Die Auswirkungen des Übergangs zu einem kohlenstoffarmen EU-Energiesystem sind multidimensional
  • Ein breiteres Engagement ist für eine tiefgreifende Dekarbonisierung unabdingbar
  • Der kohlenstoffarme Übergang in der EU ist mit nicht-EU-Einflüssen verbunden
  • Unter den Technologietrends wurden die Sektorintegration, die Energieeffizienz und die Elektrifizierung des Transportwesens durchweg als potenzielle Treiber der Dekarbonisierung bestätigt


Alle Ergebnisse im Detail sowie Daten und Publikationen aus dem Reeem-Projekt stehen hier zur Verfügung:

Kontakt



Ludwig Hülk


Projektleiter

Mascha Richter


Bereichsleiterin

Pierre-Francois Duc


Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter