SzenarienDB project kick-off
2. March 2018
ISINA 2018
5. March 2018

SzenarienDB

Project duration: January 1st 2018 - December 31st 2021

How can the Energy Transition actually be accomplished? The technological and economic effects of transmission system expansion, energy system transformation, and climate policy decisions are usually calculated with the aid of so-called energy system models. These models are becoming increasingly complex, as more and more aspects must be taken into account, and different models are often combined.

Such calculations are based on input data such as weather data and historical developments as well as assumptions on future economic and technological developments based on these. The results of these calculations as well as the input are evaluated together. The input data, the assumptions, and the preparation of these are decisive for the quality of the scenarios. These also include the expansion trajectories of renewable energy, the development of demand (power consumption, transport, building and industrial process heat), as well as assumptions on investment and operating costs, financing, energy source and CO2 certificate costs. Naturally, as these are assumptions regarding future developments, a large spectrum of variation of input parameters is possible and necessary. In order to allow scientific comparability of studies of future energy systems, it is thus important to know which energy system models were used, and which input data was used in these models. Unfortunately, the publication of this data is still often incomplete.

The aim of SzenarienDB is to create a publicly accessible database in which scenario data, and thus all data that are used in scenario calculation, are summarized and published. This includes input and output data of calculations. In addition, the data are linked up with model descriptions. This shall lead to greater transparency, an improved exchange of scenario data, and thus more efficient use of public funding.

The basis of the project is the OpenEnergyDatabase (OEDB). The OEDB is an open database on energy system data that has been under development since 2015 as part of the projects open_eGo and open_FRED. The database is part of the associated OpenEnergy Platform (OEP), an online platform that contains different tools for the exchange and documentation of models.

RLI is responsible for the following tasks within the project:

  • Communication of relevant stakeholders within the research community
  • Cooperations with providers of additional international open databases on energy data
  • Development of an approach to storing scenario data in the OEP
    • Organization of workshops, tutorials, and presentations of potential database users
    • Identification, documentation, and prioritization of requirements of the target group
    • Usability assessment of the existing OpenEnergyPlatform
    • Development of a shared ontology for energy system modeling
    • Development of a database scheme, which includes additional tools provided by the OEP
    • Increased usability
    • Implementation of a best-practice-scenario and publication under a suitable license
Fraunhofer IEE

Öko Institut

Uni Magdeburg
Funded by the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi).

Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy

Coordinated by the Projektträger Jülich (PTJ).

PTJ Logo

RLS

Contact persons



Ludwig Hülk


Project Manager

Christian Hofmann


Researcher

Jonas Huber


Intern

Networking Workshop zu Entscheidungsframing und Unsicherheit
27. Februar 2018
Kick-Off für das SzenarienDB-Projekt
1. März 2018

SzenarienDB

Projektzeitraum: 1. Januar 2018 - 31. Dezember 2021

Wie schafft man die Energiewende? Technische und wirtschaftliche Folgen von Netzausbau, Transformation des Energiesystems und klimapolitischen Entscheidungen werden in der Regel mithilfe sogenannter Energiesystemmodelle berechnet. Diese Modelle werden zunehmend komplexer, da immer mehr Aspekte berücksichtigt werden müssen und häufig verschiedene Modelle kombiniert werden.

Die Grundlage für solche Berechnungen sind die Eingangsdaten wie Wetterdaten und historische Entwicklungen und darauf aufbauende Annahmen für zukünftige Entwicklungen, sowohl technischer als auch wirtschaftlicher Natur. Die Ergebnisse der Berechnungen werden zusammen mit dem Input ausgewertet. Für die Qualität der Szenarien sind die Eingangsdaten, die Annahmen und deren Aufbereitung von zentraler Bedeutung. Zu ihnen zählen unter anderem die Ausbaupfade der Erneuerbaren Energien, die Nachfrageentwicklung (Stromverbrauch, Verkehrs, Gebäude- und Industrieprozesswärme) sowie Annahmen zu Investitions- und Betriebskosten, Finanzierung, Energieträger- und CO2-Zertifikatskosten. Da es sich natürlich nur um Annahmen über die zukünftige Entwicklung handelt, ist ein großes Spektrum an Varianz der Eingangsparameter möglich und notwendig. Um Untersuchungen zukünftiger Energiesysteme wissenschaftlich vergleichen zu können, ist es also sehr wichtig zu wissen, welches Energiesystemmodell verwendet wurde und welche Eingangsdaten darin verwendet wurden. Leider werden diese Werte noch zu selten vollständig publiziert.

Ziel von SzenarienDB ist die Erstellung einer öffentlich zugänglichen Datenbank auf der Szenariendaten, also alle Daten, die im Zusammenhang mit jeweils einer Szenarioberechnung stehen, zusammengefasst und veröffentlicht werden. Das beinhaltet sowohl Input- als auch Output-Daten der Berechnung. Darüber hinaus werden die Daten mit den Modellbeschreibungen verknüpft. Damit werden Transparenz und der Austausch von Szenariendaten wesentlich verbessert und ein effizienter Einsatz von öffentlichen Mitteln gefördert.

Grundlage bildet die OpenEnergyDatabase (OEDB). Die OEDB ist eine offene Datenbank für Energiesystemdaten, die seit 2015 im Rahmen der Projekte open_eGo und open_FRED entwickelt wird. Sie ist eingebunden in die zugehörige OpenEnergy Platform (OEP), eine Webplattform, die verschiedene Werkzeuge zum Austausch und zur Dokumentation von Modellen enthält.

In diesem Projekt übernimmt das RLI folgende Aufgaben:

  • Kommunikation in der Forschungscommunity und mit relevanten Stakeholdern
  • Kooperationen mit Betreibern weiterer international existierender offener Datenbanken für Energiedaten
  • Erarbeitung eines Konzeptes für die Ablage von Szenariendaten in der OEP
    • Organisation von Workshops, Tutorials und Vorträgen für potenzielle Nutzerinnen und Nutzer der Datenbank
    • Identifizierung, Dokumentation und Priorisierung der Anforderungen der Zielgruppe
    • Prüfung der Anwendbarkeit auf die bestehende OpenEnergyPlatform
    • Erstellung einer gemeinsamen Ontologie für die Energiesystemmodellierung
    • Entwicklung eines Datenbankkonzepts, das auch die Erweiterung um Werkzeuge der OEP beinhaltet
    • Erhöhung der Bedienbarkeit
    • Implementierung eines Best-Practice- Szenarios und Veröffentlichung unter geeigneter Lizenz
Fraunhofer IEE

Öko Institut

Uni Magdeburg
Gefördert durch das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi).

Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie

Koordiniert durch den Projektträger Jülich (PTJ).

PTJ Logo

Kontakt



Ludwig Hülk


Projektleiter

Christian Hofmann


Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Jonas Huber


Praktikant

Berit Müller


Bereichsleiterin (ehem.)